UK and UT Favored By Media To Win SEC Titles

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Kentucky was predicted to win its 44th Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship while Tennessee was voted to capture its 14th conference women's title in a voting of media held at the SEC Basketball Media Days, held Oct. 26-27 at the Birmingham Marriott.

Kentucky, the defending SEC champions, took 28 of the 35 votes cast for the SEC title and won 33 votes in the Eastern Division race. Predicted to finish behind the Wildcats in the Eastern Division were Florida, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Tennessee and Georgia.

In the Western Division, Alabama took 25 votes and led LSU, Arkansas, Mississippi State, Ole Miss and Auburn.

The Lady Vols took 10 of 22 first place votes and finished just three points ahead of second-place LSU, despite the defending SEC champion Lady Tigers pulling in 11 first place votes. Georgia, Vanderbilt, Ole Miss and Auburn rounded out the top six.

Arkansas junior guard Ronnie Brewer was voted the SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year with 12 votes, followed by LSU sophomore forward Glen Davis with 11 votes. Joining Brewer and Davis on the All-SEC first-team were Alabama senior forward Chuck Davis, Kentucky sophomore guard Rajon Rondo and Alabama sophomore guard Ronald Steele.

LSU senior guard/forward Seimone Augustus, the reigning National Player of the Year, was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 18 votes. Georgia sophomore forward Tasha Humphrey, last year's SEC Freshman of the Year, received three votes.

Joining Augustus and Humphrey on the All-SEC first-team were Vanderbilt junior forward Carla Thomas, LSU sophomore center Sylvia Fowles, Tennessee senior guard Shanna Zolman and Ole Miss junior guard Armintie Price.

The SEC basketball season begins with exhibition games starting on Nov. 1.



Champion - Kentucky (28), Alabama (6), LSU (1)

Eastern Division
Kentucky (33)               207
Florida (1)                 146
Vanderbilt (1)              144
South Carolina              114
Tennessee                    78
Georgia                      46

Western Division
Alabama (25)                199
LSU (7)                     173
Arkansas (3)                151
Mississippi State            93
Ole Miss                     68
Auburn                       51


Chuck Davis, Alabama         32
Glen Davis, LSU              32 
Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas      30
Rajon Rondo, Kentucky        27
Ronald Steele, Alabama       16

Corey Brewer, Florida         8
Al Horford, Florida           5 
Mario Moore, Vanderbilt       4
C.J. Watson, Tennessee        4
Jermareo Davidson, Alabama    3

Player of the Year
Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas      12
Glen Davis, LSU              11
Rajon Rondo, Kentucky         5
Chuck Davis, Alabama          6
Mario Moore, Vanderbilt       1


Tennessee (10)              251
LSU (11)                    248
Georgia (1)                 224
Vanderbilt                  201
Ole Miss                    144
Auburn                      129
Florida                     114
Alabama                     104
Kentucky                     87
Arkansas                     76
Mississippi State            76
South Carolina               62


Seimone Augustus, LSU        21
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia      20 
Carla Thomas, Vanderbilt     17
Sylvia Fowles, LSU           12
Shanna Zolman, Tennessee     11
Armintie Price, Ole Miss     11

Sarah Pfeifer, Arkansas       3
Tye'sha Fluker, Tennessee     3
Dee Davis, Vanderbilt         3
Marita Payne, Auburn          2
Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky    2
Nicky Anosike, Tennessee      2

Player of the Year
Seimone Augustus, LSU        18
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia       3
Shanna Zolman, Tennessee      1

Courtesy SEC Sports Information

Fightin Gators Top Stories