Baseball Leads League With Six All-SEC Selections

The University of Florida baseball team had six players earn All-Southeastern Conference for their play throughout the year. Thirdbaseman Pat Osborn (Jr., Bakersfield, Calif.) and pitcher Alex Hart (Jr., Marion, Pa.) earned first-team All-SEC honors, while firstbaseman Ryan Shealy (Sr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), secondbaseman Aaron Davidson (Sr., Atascadero, Calif.), shortstop Mark Kiger (Sr., La Jolla, Calif.) and outfielder Aaron Sobieraj (Jr., Clearwater, Fla.) earned second team honors.

Osborn finished regular-season SEC play with a .405 batting average with 47 hits in 116 at bats, including a team-leading nine doubles. He went on a team-high 22-game hitting streak that just ended with Saturday's 5-4 win at Kentucky. He was named the SEC Player of the Week for his performance against Winthrop on Feb. 16. IN that game he tied the school record for home runs (3) and hits (5) in a game.

Hart earned his SEC-leading 13th win of the season against Kentucky on May 18. He holds a 13-1 record on the season with an 8-1 SEC record. His 3.14 ERA for the season is the best of the Florida starters. In SEC games he has held opponents to only a .210 batting average, the best in the conference. He leads the team with 74 strikeouts, 53 of them in conference action.

Shealy leads Florida with 42 RBI and 15 home runs in SEC play. He has 21 homers overall on the season (ranking him ninth and needs just three more to break the Florida single season record. He has been named the SEC Player of the Week twice this season. He earned the first honor for the week of March 11. During that week, he tied the school record for most home runs in a game, knocking three out against Ole Miss. He earned the honor again just this week for his performance in the Kentucky series. Shealy hit .538 (7-for-12) with seven, RBI, two home runs and five runs scored.

Davidson has the best fielding percentage of the Florida infielders with a .991. He went 25 games from March 7 to April 4 (92 attempts) without an error. He recently had a big series against Kentucky, hitting .500 (6-for-12) with three home runs in the Saturday doubleheader and six RBI. He leads the team with 17 stolen bases in 18 attempts and a perfect 5-for-5 in SEC play.

Kiger most recently had the game winning hit in Florida's 5-4 come-from-behind victory at Kentucky on Sunday. He leads the team with a .424 overall batting average that ranks him 17th in the country. He is one of only three Gators (Shealy and Osborn) to have started and played in all 55 games this season. Kiger earned SEC Player of the Week honors for his play against Vanderbilt. He is currently on a 15-game hit streak and has scored a run in each of the last 11 games.

Sobieraj has seen action in seven different positions this season, but has played the majority of his 49 starts in left field (43). He has the fewest strikeouts of the Florida starters with only 11 on the season. His 10 sacrifice bunts this season lead the team and are tied for the Florida single season record.

The Gators six selections to the All-SEC teams are the most of any conference school. Alabama had the second most selections with five. South Carolina's firstbaseman Yaron Peters earned Player of the Year accolades. Ole Miss outfielder Seth Smith was named Freshman of the Year and Alabama head coach Jim Wells was voted the Coach of the Year. The league's coaches vote for the players to be selected to the teams and for the special awards by a point system. Each team is comprised of five infielders, three outfielders, a designated hitter, two starting pitchers and a relief pitcher. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team, so a unanimous decision receives 11 of the 12 possible votes.

Florida begins its run for the SEC Tournament crown tomorrow at 11 a.m. ET in Birmingham, Ala. The No. 3 seeded Gators take on the No. 6 seeded Georgia Bulldogs. All SEC Tournament games will be televised live with games one through eight on Comcast/Charter Sports Southeast and games 9-12 on the Sunshine Network. All of Florida's games are always broadcast live on the Gator Radio Network.




First Team

1B - Yaron Peters, South Carolina

2B - Brent Boyd, Alabama

3B - Pat Osborn, Florida

SS - Drew Meyer, South Carolina

C - Jeremy Brown, Alabama

OF - Chaz Lytle, Georgia

OF - Scott McClanahan - Alabama

OF - Seth Smith - Ole Miss

DH - Trey Dyson - South Carolina

P - Alex Hart - Florida

P - Lane Mestepey - LSU

*RP - Blake Taylor - South Carolina

Second Team

1B - Ryan Shealy - Florida

2B - Aaron Davidson - Florida

3B - Wally Pontiff - LSU

SS - Mark Kiger - Florida

C - Trent Pratt - Auburn

OF - Burney Hutchinson - Ole Miss

OF - Aaron Sobieraj - Florida

OF - Peter Stonard - Alabama

DH - Bobby Huddleston - Auburn

P - Lance Cormier - Alabama

P - Paul Maholm - Mississippi State

#RP - Jeff Carswell, Georgia

#RP - Jake Thompkins, LSU

SEC Player of the Year - Yaron Peters, South Carolina

SEC Freshman of the Year - Seth Smith, Ole Miss

SEC Coach of the Year - Jim Wells, Alabama

* - Unanimous decision, # - tie

Fightin Gators Top Stories