2005 Gator Football Awards Announced

Last Saturday, Coach Meyer and the Florida Gators held their annual football banquet and recognized several players for their leadership, talent, and contributions to the 2005 team.

Senior cornerback Vernell Brown received the Ray Graves Award to highlight the University of Florida football team's annual banquet, which was held Saturday evening at the Touchdown Terrace in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Brown received the honor, which is given to the squad's Most Valuable Player as selected by his teammates. Brown was also named the Gene Ellenson Most Inspirational Player Award winner and the Iron "Gator" Award honoree as the member of the team who is best in the weight room. Safety Jarvis Herring received the Fergie Ferguson Award, which is presented annually to the senior player who displays outstanding leadership, character and courage. The James Kynes Award (outstanding lineman) went to Lance Butler. The Rex Farrior Award winner (team-oriented player) was offensive lineman Tavares Washington. The John Eibner Award as the top scout team player went to quarterback Matt Kynes.

Linebacker Brandon Siler earned the President's Award (Athletic/Academics), while defensive end Jeremy Mincey was presented with the Orange Helmet Award (Football Player). Linebacker Todd McCullough was honored as the first-ever recipient of the Chris Patrick Courage Award given to the player who, after injury, demonstrated outstanding commitment and dedication in the athletic training room in an effort to return to activity with the team

Dwayne Thomas (1995-97 letterwinner) was appreciated as the Supporter/Former Player Award recipient for outside support.

Brown, Herring, Mincey, Mike Degory and Chris Leak received the Captain Award as the five served for Florida throughout the 2005 campaign.

Most outstanding player awards were also presented for position areas: Offensive Back, Chris Leak; Offensive Lineman, Randy Hand; Defensive Back, Jarvis Herring; Defensive Line, Marcus Thomas; Wide Receiver, Dallas Baker; Special Teams, Chris Hetland; Linebacker, Brandon Siler.

President's Award (Athletics/Academics)
Brandon Siler

Former Player of the Year
Dwayne Thomas

Team Captains Award
Mike Degory, Vernell Brown, Chris Leak, Jarvis Herring and Jeremy Mincey

Chris Patrick Award (Athletic Trainers)
Todd McCullough

Gene Ellenson Award (Most Inspirational)
Vernell Brown

James Kynes Award (Outstanding Lineman)
Lance Butler

Rex Farrior Award (Team Oriented Player)
Tavares Washington

John Eibner (Outstanding Scout Team Player)
Matt Kynes

Iron Gator Award (Weight Room)
Vernell Brown

Orange Helmet Award (Football Intensity)
Jeremy Mincey

Fergie Furguson Award (Outstanding Leadership)
Jarvis Herring

Top Offensive Lineman
Randy Hand

Top Defensive Lineman
Marcus Thomas

Top Linebacker
Brandon Siler

Top Offensive Back

Chris Leak

Top Defensive Back
Jarvis Herring

Top Wide Receiver
Dallas Baker

Top Special Teams Player
Chris Hetland

Ray Graves Award (MVP)
Vernell Brown

Fightin Gators Top Stories