HOOPS: UF's starting five honored by SEC

GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- All five of the University of Florida men's basketball starters were honored on Wednesday, as the Southeastern Conference announced its All-Conference selections and award winners, as voted on by the league coaches.

Joakim Noah earned First Team All-SEC honors, while Taurean Green and Al Horford were selected to the Second Team. Corey Brewer was selected Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Tyrus Thomas of LSU and Lee Humphrey was honored as the SEC's Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Glenn Davis of LSU was selected the SEC Player of the Year, while LSU head coach John Brady earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Tigers to the regular season SEC title.

Florida was the only school to have each of its five starters all recognized.

Noah's inclusion on the First Team marked the seventh straight year the Gators had at least one player make First Team honors. The sophomore forward leads the Gators in scoring at 14.1 points per game and has blocked a team-high 63 shots.

Green is second on the Gators in scoring at 13.6 points per game and leads the squad with 5.0 assists per game, while Horford leads the Gators in rebounding at 7.4 boards per game and has blocked 59 shots.

Brewer leads UF in steals with 49 and has helped a UF defense that is fourth in the SEC in points per game allowed and third in opponent's field goal percentage. He is the first Gator to earn the award.

Humphrey earned the Scholar Athlete of the Year award a week after being named Second Team Academic All-American. Humphrey has a 3.74 grade point average in Applied Physiology and on the court leads the Gators in three-point accuracy, knocking down 46.1 percent from beyond the arc.

Fightin Gators Top Stories