Tebow named National HS QB of the Year

Rockville, MD - University of Florida freshman quarterback Tim Tebow (Jacksonville, Fla.) has been named the 2005 National High School Quarterback of the Year as announced by The National Quarterback Club.

Tebow will be presented with the honor at this year's Awards Dinner in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, July 22. Also receiving awards will be Ben Roethlisberger of the Pittsburgh Steelers, recipient of The NFL Quarterback of the Year and Vince Young from the University of Texas, the recipient of The National College Quarterback of the Year.

Tebow, who enrolled at Florida in January of 2006, was a team captain and helped lead Nease High School to a 13-2 record as a senior en route to leading to the school to its first-ever Class 4A state championship. In the state championship game, Tebow was in on a title game record 54 offensive plays (27 passing, 27 rushing) and was involved in six touchdowns in the contest, also a state championship game record. Tebow owns the Florida state prep football records for total offense (12,960), career passing yards (9,940), touchdowns (159) and completed passes (631). He also owns single season state records in total offense (5,552), passing yards (4,286), touchdown passes (46) and total touchdowns (70).

The Quarterback Club, a non-profit organization based in Rockville, Md., was founded by Robert J. Geoghan in 1965 as a social sports organization specifically hosting the Washington Redskins luncheons during the football season. In celebration of its 20th anniversary, he created The National Quarterback Club and The National Quarterback Hall of Fame. Top quarterbacks from the professional, collegiate and high school ranks as well as inductees into The National Quarterback Hall of Fame have been honored at the National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner. In addition, Quarterback Club Charities, Inc., a non-profit 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization, was formed to serve as the charitable arm of The National Quarterback Club.

Past National Quarterback Club Award winners include Roger Staubach, Archie Manning, Brett Favre, John Elway, Rich Gannon, Steve Young, Carson Palmer and Chris Leak (Charlotte, NC). The dinner has been held in Washington, DC the past three years and previously help in Houston (2002), Minneapolis (2001), Denver (1999), Green Bay (1997-1998), Charlotte (1996), Jacksonville (1994-1995), Tampa Bay (1993) and Miami (1992).

Fightin Gators Top Stories