Tebow Takes Home an ESPY

Make more room on the shelf because Florida quarterback Tim Tebow is bringing home another piece of hardware. The Gator star won Best Male Athlete of the Year during Wednesday night's ESPY Award presentation.

Tim Tebow beat out two hardwood stars – Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina and Michael Beasley of Kansas State.

"It is an honor to be at an event with many of the people I've grown up watching and respecting," said Tebow. "I accept this award on behalf of my coaches and teammates. The fact that this award is based on fan voting makes it all the more special. I've always appreciated the support I've received from the fans and the Gator Nation."

Tebow becomes the second Gator to win both the Heisman and the ESPY award. Danny Wuerffel also took home the trophy after leading the Gators to the 1996 National Championship.

In addition, Tebow also won the Maxwell Award after his record setting performance last season and was named the SEC's Male Athlete of the Year.

Questions or comments? Contact FightinGators.com's Chris Chmielenski

Fightin Gators Top Stories