Loads of Gators on Coaches' All-SEC Team

Heisman Trophy winner Tim Tebow is one of five Gators named Monday to the SEC Coaches' All-SEC Team. Tebow got the nod over Georgia's Matthew Stafford in voting of the league's 12 head coaches. The announcement of the Coaches' All-SEC Team is the unofficial start of the fall season with SEC Media Days getting underway in Birmingham on Wednesday.

Tebow is joined on the first team by receivers Percy Harvin and Cornelius Ingram (TE), linebacker Brandon Spikes and kick return specialist Brandon James. Spikes is the only unanimous selection for the Gators.

There were a number of players who were also unanimous choices, including most of the offensive line. Andre Smith of Alabama, Michael Oher of Ole Miss, Anthony Parker of Tennessee and Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs were tabbed as the best blockers by every coach in the conference. Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno was also a unanimous pick. The only other unanimous pick on defense was Ole Miss defensive end Greg Hardy.

No Gators were chosen for the second team, but five more Florida players earned third team recognition. Somewhat surprisingly, three members of Florida's much questioned secondary were named; Wondy Pierre-Louis, Joe Haden and Major Wright. Joining them on the second team are offensive linemen Jim Tartt and Phil Trautwein. Trautwein is an interesting pick since he missed all of last year with a stress fracture on his foot.

Florida's five first-team selections are the most for any team with LSU and Tennessee each having four. The Gators' ten overall picks is second to 14 LSU Tigers getting honored. SEC favorite Georgia had nine players chosen with two first teamers, four on the second unit and three more named third team All-SEC.

Questions or comments? Contact FightinGators.com's Larry Vettel

Fightin Gators Top Stories