Tebow, Harvin up for Walter Camp Award

Last year, the Walter Camp Award was one of the few awards Tim Tebow didn't win. On Monday, he was selected as a finalist again along with teammate Percy Harvin.

The Walter Camp Award is given to the nation's best college football player, and last season, Arkansas' Darren McFadden won the honor. Both Tim Tebow and Percy Harvin are on the watch list and make it for a second straight season.

Walter Camp is considered the father of modern football and the award is voted on by the nation's bowl subdivision coaches along the school's sports information directors. The list will be narrowed to 15 semi-finalists in November before the winner will be officially announced during the college football awards show in December.

Two other SEC players were selected to the watch list - Auburn's defensive tackle Sen'Derrick Marks and Georgia's running back Knowshon Moreno. Herschel Walker, Bo Jackson and Danny Wuerffel are the SEC players to win the award in its 40 year history.

Fightin Gators Top Stories