Tebow Needs a Bigger Trophy Case

It remains to be seen if Florida's Tim Tebow will repeat as the Heisman Trophy winner, but he will have back-to-back awards for being the best player in college football. Tebow claimed the Maxwell Award again on Thursday night, becoming the first repeat winner of the award since Notre Dame's John Lattner did it in 1952 and '53. Interestingly, the award has been a bit of a Heisman curse.

Before Tim Tebow claimed both honors last season, no one had done it since Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999.

While Tebow was naturally happy to receive another honor for what he's accomplished, he emphasized again how important team accomplishments are.

"It's always more fun to celebrate a championship," he said. "When you do that, you're sharing the moment with 70 other guys."

Tebow did not get the chance to defend his Davey O'Brien Award as the best quarterback in the country, with the Big 12 trio of Sam Bradford of Oklahoma, Colt McCoy of Texas and Graham Harrell of Texas Tech being selected as finalists. Bradford wound up taking the O'Brien home but was not a contender for the Maxwell, meaning he and his future BCS title opponent Tebow did not directly compete against each other for any honors.

The Heisman Trophy forecast remains as cloudy as its ever been. Colt McCoy of Texas was selected as the Walter Camp All-America quarterback and also was named their player of the year. McCoy leads the Scripps-Howard poll, which has correctly picked 18 of the past 21 Heisman winners, but Bradford leads in vote projections on stiffarmtrophy.com. Tebow will head to New York early Friday for the award ceremony Saturday night.

Tebow knew when the night began he wouldn't be going home empty handed, as he had been selected previously for the Disney Spirit Award as the most inspirational story in college football. The award presentation focused on Tebow's work in prison ministry as well as his missionary work in the Phillipines.

"You're going to be a role model, and it's up to you whether it's a good or bad one." said Tebow.

Another Gator was also honored during the award show, as Brandon Spikes was selected as one of three linebackers to make the Walter Camp All-America team.

Fightin Gators Top Stories