Baseball Regionals All Set

Six games Monday night settled the remaining issues and 16 teams remain in the NCAA Baseball Tournament. Eight of the 16 will host best-of-three Super Regionals this weekend with the winners advancing to the College World Series in Omaha.

The SEC ends up with four teams reaching the Super Regional level after Ole Miss survived a scare from Western Kentucky to post a 4-1 win. The Rebels join Florida, LSU and Arkansas in advancing to the next round. The Razorbacks will play at Florida State while the others will all get to host.

Southern Miss is definitely one of the surprise teams moving on. The Golden Eagles upset Georgia Tech in Atlanta to earn a trip to Gainesville.

Two other SEC teams came up short Monday night. South Carolina led 6-0 in the fifth inning but let it get away in a 10-9 loss to East Carolina. Vanderbilt fell to Louisville 5-3. Projected high draft pick Mike Minor of the Commodores gave up a decisive three-run homer in the fourth.

That sets up the following Regional matchups.

Texas Christian at Texas
Louisville at Cal-State Fullerton
Rice at LSU
East Carolina at North Carolina
Clemson at Arizona State
Southern Miss at Florida
Arkansas at Florida State
Virginia at Ole Miss


Florida and Southern Miss will play Saturday at 3:00 with a Sunday night game at 7:00. If necessary a Monday game will be played at either 1:00 or 7:00 depending on television.


The ACC and SEC will take bragging rights into the Super Regional showdowns. Each league has four teams still in the running for a trip to Omaha. In fact six of the eight Super Regionals will be played at either an SEC or ACC school.


This is only the third time Florida has played in a Super Regional. In 2004 the Gators lost at Miami in two straight games and the next year Florida beat FSU 8-1, 8-5 to reach the College World Series. It was Florida's fifth trip to Omaha and they have not been back since.

Fightin Gators Top Stories