Florida Dominates Media Voting

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- As anticipated, Florida dominated the SEC's all-conference team when the voting was released Friday morning. The Gators ended up with 12 players selected to the team, including eight first teamers. No other program besides Alabama had more than five players make the squad.

Florida was a unanimous choice to win the SEC East, with all but one voter also selecting them to win the conference.

No player was a unanimous selection to the all-conference team, with Florida's Tim Tebow and Brandon Spikes getting the most votes of any player with 61 each of a possible 64. Florida's other offensive first teamers were the Pouncey twins. Maurkice will have bragging rights over Mike, getting 39 votes to his brother's 35. Defensive end Carlos Dunlap and cornerback Joe Haden were the two other Gators besides Spikes to make the defensive first team. Both punter Chas Henry and return specialist Brandon Spikes also received first team honors.

Four more Gators were second teamers, with tight end Aaron Hernandez the lone offensive choice. Defensive end Jermaine Cunningham and safeties Ahmad Black and Major Wright also made the cut.

The projected order of finish in the East behind Florida was Georgia a clear second choice and then a close third place selection for South Carolina. Tennessee was fourth, Vandy fifth, and as their coach Rich Brooks predicted Kentucky was slotted last.

Alabama was the choice to repeat as the West champ, getting 33 first place votes. LSU was second with 15 voters giving them the nod, edging out Ole Miss by four points. One voter did select Ole Miss to win the SEC, denying UF the unanimous choice. Arkansas, Auburn and Mississippi State rounded out the vote.

Fightin Gators Top Stories