Football Announces Awards

For the second straight year, quarterback Rex Grossman received the Ray Graves Award to highlight the Florida football squad's annual banquet, held on Friday evening at the Gainesville Sheraton Hotel...

Grossman received the Ray Graves Award, which goes to the squad's Most Valuable Player as selected by his teammates. Linebacker Bam Hardmon received the Fergie Ferguson Award, which is presented annually to the senior player (as selected by his teammates) who displays outstanding leadership, character and courage. This season there were three recipients of the Gene Ellenson Most Inspirational Player Award, as cornerback Robert Cromartie, defensive tackle Tron LaFavor and defensive end Marcus Oquendo-Johnson were awarded the honor. The James Kynes Award (outstanding lineman) went to defensive tackle Bryan Savelio. The Rex Farrior Award winner (team-oriented player) was free safety Todd Johnson. The John Eibner Award as the top scout team player went to linebacker Taurean Charles and tight end Brian Crum.

Most outstanding player awards were also presented for position areas. Earnest Graham was the recipient of the Outstanding Running Back Award for the third straight season and Guss Scott received the honor for Outstanding Defensive Back. Max Starks was named the Outstanding Offensive Lineman, while Clint Mitchell was the recipient of the Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award. Bam Hardmon was the recipient of UF's Outstanding Linebacker Award, while Taylor Jacobs received that honor for a wide receiver. Junior long snapper Casey Griffith was named the Outstanding Special Teams Player.

Center Mike Degory was the recipient of the Freshman Player of the Year, while Arpedge Rolle was honored with the True Gator Award. Grossman, Jacobs and Graham were the three recipients of the Captain Award for Offense, while Johnson and Hardmon received the award for Defense.


Ray Graves Award Rex Grossman


Fergie Ferguson Award Bam Hardmon

(Outstanding Leadership)

Gene Ellenson Award Robert Cromartie, Tron LaFavor and Marcus Oquendo-Johnson

(Most Inspirational Player)

James Kynes Award Bryan Savelio

(Outstanding Lineman)

Rex Farrior Award Todd Johnson

(Team-Oriented Player)

John Eibner Award Taurean Charles and Brian Crum

(Outstanding Scout Team Player)

Captain Award Offense- Rex Grossman, Taylor Jacobs, Earnest Graham

Defense-Todd Johnson, Bam Hardmon

True Gator Award Arpedge Rolle

Outstanding Freshman Michael Degory

Most Outstanding Player Awards

Running Back Earnest Graham

Offensive Lineman Max Starks

Defensive Back Guss Scott

Defensive Line Clint Mitchell

Wide Receiver Taylor Jacobs

Special Teams Casey Griffith

Linebacker Bam Hardmon

Fightin Gators Top Stories