Three Gators Honored By SEC

Three members of the Gator basketball team were recognized by SEC coaches on Tuesday afternoon. Sophomore guard Erving Walker was one of eight players chosen to the All-SEC Second Team. Kenny Boynton was named to the eight-man All-Freshman Team while sophomore wing man Ray Shipman was chosen the SEC scholar-athlete of the year.

Erving Walker's inclusion is a bit of a surprise, considering his difficulties late in games down the stretch, but well deserved. The diminutive guard from Brooklyn, N.Y. averaged 14.3 points a game in SEC play. He was also fifth in assists (4.9), seventh in free throw percentage (.812), eighth in three point shots made (2.3) and ninth in steals (1.4).

Kenny Boynton averaged 13.4 points a game in SEC play, fourth best among SEC newcomers. He was also tied for ninth among all players in the league in steals (1.4) and handled tough defensive assignments every night.

Ray Shipman is coming off his best SEC game of the season in which he scored nine points against Kentucky. Shipman has earned a 3.45 Grade Point Average as a Sport Management major at UF. He becomes the third UF winner since the 2004 installment of the award. Lee Humphrey won in both 2006 and 2007. Of course Matt Bonner would have won the award his entire career had it existed then, seeing how he was twice the National Scholar-Athlete of the year.

Notably absent from either All-SEC team is forward Chandler Parsons. He averaged 12.1 points, 7.1 rebounds and 3.3 assists against SEC opponents. His assist/turnover ratio in SEC play (1.9) is fourth best in the league.


First Team All-SEC

*Trey Thompkins, Georgia – F, 6-10, 247, So.
*DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky – F 6-11, 270, Fr.
Patrick Patterson, Kentucky – F 6-9, 235, Jr.
*John Wall, Kentucky – G 6-4, 195, Fr.
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 230, Sr.
*Devan Downey, South Carolina – G, 5-9, 170, Sr.
Wayne Chism, Tennessee – C, 6-9, 246, Sr.
*Jermaine Beal, Vanderbilt – G, 6-3, Sr.

Second Team All-SEC

Mikhail Torrance, Alabama – G, 6-5, 210, Sr.
Courtney Fortson, Arkansas – G, 5-11, 180, So.
Erving Walker, Florida – G, 5-10, 171, So.
Tasmin Mitchell, LSU – F, 6-7, 238, Sr.
Chris Warren, Ole Miss – G, 5-10, 168, Jr.
Dee Bost, Mississippi State – G, 6-2, 170, So.
A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt – C, 6-11, Jr.
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt – F, 6-7, So.

SEC All-Freshman Team

Tony Mitchell, Alabama – F, 6-6, 185
*Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 220
Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 183
*Eric Bledsoe, Kentucky – G, 6-1, 190
*DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky – F 6-11, 270
*John Wall, Kentucky – G, 6-4, 195
Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-8, 233
*John Jenkins, Vanderbilt – G, 6-4, 215

SEC All-Defensive Team

Patrick Patterson, Kentucky – F 6-9, 235, Jr.
*Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 230, Sr.
Devan Downey, South Carolina – G, 5-9, 170, Sr.
Sam Muldrow, South Carolina – F, 6-9, 220, Jr.
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt – F, 6-7, So.

SEC Coach of the Year: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt

SEC Player of the Year: John Wall, Kentucky

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ray Shipman, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: John Jenkins, Vanderbilt

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State*

* Unanimous selection

Fightin Gators Top Stories