SEC, Pac-10 Lead Sweep Into Super Regionals

The NCAA Softball Tournament heads to the Super Regionals this weekend with 16 teams still in the running for the national championship. Ten of those teams come from the Pac-10 (6) and the SEC (4). The Big 12 (2) is the only other league with more than one team remaining. The ACC and Big East have been completely cleared from the field.

Three SEC teams will play at home this weekend. No. 1 Alabama hosts Hawaii. No. 4 Florida entertains Arizona State and No. 6 Georgia will welcome California. The Pac-10 will have three of its teams at home. No. 3 Washington, the defending champ takes on Oklahoma while UCLA, ranked fifth hosts Louisiana-Lafayette which shocked LSU in the Regional in Baton Rouge. Arizona gets to host BYU which upset Texas.

In other matchups Tennessee travels to Ann Arbor to face No. 2 Michigan and Missouri hosts Oregon.


It's interesting to note that all 16 teams won their Regionals in three straight games. Not one Regional Tournament came down to a single, "winner take all" type of game.


California might be getting sick of the SEC. The Golden Bears were eliminated in Gainesville each of the past two years and once again have been sent across the country to play an SEC on its home field.


All eight teams that made it to the College World Series last year are still alive in their quest to return to Oklahoma City. That list of teams is headed up by last year's winner, Washington and runner up, Florida. Alabama, Georgia, Arizona, Arizona State, Michigan and Missouri are also looking to reach the CWS again. Florida/Arizona State is the only Super Regional pitting CWS teams from last year head-to-head.

Fightin Gators Top Stories