Ten Gators Selected to Coaches All-SEC Team

HOOVER, Ala. -- The exodus from Gainesville to the NFL from since January's Sugar Bowl was difficult to ignore. However, when the Coaches Preseason All-SEC team came out Tuesday, the depth of Urban Meyer's recruiting classes shone through.

Florida led the SEC with 10 selections on the first and second team. Alabama was second with nine selections, while Auburn and Georgia tied for third with six selections each.

The Gators had two of the five offensive linemen on first team in guard Carl Johnson and center Mike Pouncey, who was a first-team All-SEC following the 2009 season. Cornerback Janoris Jenkins was Florida's only selection on the first team defense.

Running back Jeff Demps was Florida's only selection for the second-team offense. However, the defense put three on the second team. Safety duo Will Hill and Ahmad Black made the second team as half of the defensive backs. AJ Jones was selected to the second team defense.

Florida took three of the specialty positions on the second team. Place kicker Caleb Sturgis and punter Chas Henry were named to the second team. Chris Rainey was named the all-purpose player for the second team.

Alabama led the SEC with six selections to the first team. Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram was a first team running back with Kentucky's Derrick Locke. Wide receiver Julio Jones and offensive lineman Barrett Jones were also named to the first team. Jones was the only sophomore on the first-team offense.

Defensive lineman Marcel Dareus, linebacker Dont'a Hightower and safety Mark Barron were all named to the first-team defense from Alabama. Hightower, who redshirted and tearing his ACL in 2009, and South Carolina cornerback Stephon Gilmore were the only two sophomores named to the first-team defense.

Quarterback Greg McElroy, running back Trent Richardson and offensive lineman James Carpenter were all named to the second team, rounding out the selections from Alabama.

Arkansas' Ryan Mallet was named the first-team quarterback, and his receiving tight end D.J. Williams was also a first team selection. Offensive lineman DeMarcus Love and linebacker Jerry Franklin were both named to the second team.

Georgia put wide receiver AJ Green and offensive lineman Clint Boling on the first-team offense, while offensive lineman Cordy Glenn made the second-team offense. Special teams are where the Bulldogs made their noise on the preseason selections. Place kicker Blair Walsh and punter Drew Butler were both named to the first team, while return specialist Brandon Boykin was named to the second team.

South Carolina put four defensive players on the teams. Cliff Matthews was selected as the first-team defensive end, along with Gilmore's first team selection. Defensive tackle Ladi Ajiboye and cornerback Chris Culliver were both on the second team. The defensive line and secondary will make the Gamecocks tough, and their leading tackler for 2009 returns in linebacker Shaq Wilson. Wide receiver Alshon Jeffery was a second-team selection for the Gamecocks.

Ole Miss had the lowest total of players, placing only defensive lineman Jerrell Powe on the first team. Tennessee and Vanderbilt had the second fewest players. The Volunteers put only tight end Luke Stocker and defensive end Chris Walker on the second-team offensive and defensive teams, respectively. The Commodores put linebacker Chris Marve on the first team, and Warren Norman is the first-team return specialist.

Fightin Gators Top Stories