Pouncey Named to Watch List

Without starting a game at center, Mike Pouncey was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List on Thursday. The senior is versatile enough to play right tackle in the season opener if injuries dictate it. His versatility will help as he slides from right guard to center when the offensive line returns to full health.

Michael Pouncey has started 32 games in three seasons at Florida, including each of the 14 games in the last two seasons. He was named an AP First Team All-SEC selection and AP Second Team All-American.

Pouncey's twin brother, Maurkice, became the first Florida player to win the award after collecting 40 starts in three seasons. The Pittsburgh Steelers then selected Maurkice Pouncey with the 18th overall pick of the NFL Draft.

There were 37 players on the watch list, and the ACC led the way with six selections. The SEC, Big-12 and PAC-10 followed with five selections.

The four other SEC selections are J.C. Brignone from Miss State, Ben Jones from Georgia, Ryan Pugh from Auburn, and William Vlachos from Alabama.

Two of the last three Rimington Award winners have come from the SEC, as former Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs won it in 2007.

Jeff Demps was named a candidate for the Doak Walker Award on Wednesday. This is the second straight season that Demps was selected as a candidate for the award in the preseason. The award requires student athletes to be in good academic standing and on track to graduate within one year of other students of their same classification.

Demps started 12 games for the Gators last season, recording 745 yards on 99 carries. Demps also scored seven touchdowns during his sophomore season. With the carries and rushing yards from Tim Tebow being gone, Demps will be a feature back for the Gators and could be the first to eclipse the 1,000-yard mark since Urban Meyer took over as the Florida head coach.

The SEC had five other selections, including Mario Fannin from Auburn, Mark Ingram from Alabama, Dennis Johnson from Arkansas, Derrick Locke from Kentucky, Richard Murphy from LSU.

The winner will be announced at the ESPNU College Football Awards.

Kicker Caleb Sturgis was named to the Groza Award Watch List on Monday. Judd Davis was the last Florida kicker to win the award, doing it in 1993.

Sturgis has handled kickoff duties for the Gators over the past two seasons. In his career, he has made 22 of 30 field goal attempts and 44 of 47 PATs.

The other four SEC selections are Wes Byrum from Auburn, Josh Jasper from LSU, Spencer Lanning from South Carolina and Blair Walsh from Georgia.

Follow Cody Jones on

Fightin Gators Top Stories