Team Alabama Roster Announced

MOBILE, Ala. (Oct. 6) -- The 40-member roster of top high school stars and collegiate prospects that will represent the state of Alabama in the 24th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic, set for December 11 in Mobile, has been announced.

The players were chosen by a special selection committee of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association, and the team is comprised of at least one player from each district and one player from each classification by AHSADCA parameters. All players are current high school seniors.

"We think our selection committee has once again put together a very good team," said Steve Bailey, AHSADCA Director. "We know Mississippi will have a talented team. This Alabama squad is one of our most talented in the series. We have an excellent head coach in Briarwood Christian's Fred Yancey. He has a good staff set to assist him."

Two big, rangy seniors already committed to Division I schools have been selected to quarterback the Alabama squad. Stephen Rivers, a 6-7, 210-pounder from Athens, is committed to LSU, while Jacob Coker, a 6-5, 210-pounder from St. Paul's, is headed to Florida State. Rivers is also the younger brother of San Diego Chargers All-Pro quarterback Philip Rivers.

In addition to Rivers, the Alabama roster lists 12 other players already committed to SEC schools next fall.

Five players have committed to the University of Alabama – linebacker Brent Calloway of Russellville, wide receivers Danny Woodson of LeFlore, Marvin Shinn of Vigor and Daryl Collins of Gadsden City, and defensive back Christion Jones of Minor. Jones chose the Tide last Thursday.

Auburn has six verbal commitments on the squad -- defensive backs Anthony Swain of Gadsden City and Jonathan Rose of Leeds, defensive lineman Jabrian Niles of Davidson, center Reese Dismukes of Spanish Fort, wide receiver Sammie Coates of Leroy and Hoover tight end Jaylon Denson.

Oxford defensive lineman Allan Carson has committed to Tennessee.

Among the roster players still uncommitted are Auburn defensive lineman JaMichael Payne and Valley safety Enrique Florence. Florence is considered by many recruiting services as the state's top prep prospect. He has offers from Alabama, Auburn, Arkansas, Florida, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Southern Miss, Stanford and UAB, among others.

Payne, who led Auburn in tackles last season, has drawn comparisons to former Auburn High School defensive lineman Demarcus Ware, one of the top defensive tackles in the NFL. Payne is considering Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Memphis, Southern Miss, Wake Forest and Western Kentucky.

Gadsden City and Foley high schools lead all schools with three selections each on the team, while Hoover, Prattville, Vigor, Decatur, Spanish Fort and Walker have two apiece.

Alabama has won ten of the last 12 games including last year's 21-13 victory, and holds a 16-7 edge in the annual series which began in 1988.

Head coach for this year's squad is Briarwood Christian's Fred Yancey. Yancey is currently 216-78-1 in his head-coaching career with a 5-1 record this season. He has led the Lions to three state championships with the Class 5A crown in 2003, Class 3A in 1999 and 1998.

Yancey's Team Alabama coaching staff includes assistants Alvin Briggs of Florence, Tripp Curry of Cherokee County, Chris Fancher of Gardendale, Tom Causey, Demopolis, Brantley's David Lowery, Al Pogue of Carver-Montgomery and Geoff Walters of Briarwood Christian.

The Mississippi team of all-stars will be announced later this month.

Over the past 22 years, the All-Star Classic has built an impressive legacy of featuring close, exciting games, as well as the best home-grown talent from Alabama and Mississippi over that time -- players who have gone on to enjoy tremendous success at both the NCAA and NFL levels.

Since the contest's inception in 1988, 18 first-round NFL Draft picks and 120 overall draftees have played in the Classic, a list that includes Antonio Langham, Deuce McAllister, Jason Campbell, John Copeland, Cadillac Williams, Steve McNair, Willie Anderson, Andre Smith and Rolando McClain, the eighth pick of the 2010 NFL Draft.

A total of 110 former All-Star Classic players are currently listed on Southeastern Conference team rosters, which includes stars such as wide receiver Julio Jones, linebacker Courtney Upshaw and defensive back Robert Lester at Alabama, defensive lineman Nick Fairley and defensive back Zach Etheridge at Auburn, Mississippi State wide receiver Chad Bumphis and Ole Miss defensive tackle Jerrell Powe.

This year's All-Star Classic Week in Mobile will run from December 6-11, with the game set for Saturday, December 11, in Mobile's Ladd-Peebles Stadium. Kickoff time is TBA. Special game week activities are planned for players and coaches, as well as for fans on game day.

For more information, visit the All-Star Classic's website at

2010 Alabama All-Stars Roster

Quarterbacks -- Jacob Coker, Saint Paul's; Stephen Rivers, Athens.

Running Backs -- Chris Dukes, UMS-Wright; Damarcus James, Demopolis; Stanley Robinson, Carver-Montgomery; Ameer Abdullah, Homewood.

Wide Receivers -- Sammie Coates, Leroy; Danny Woodson, LeFlore; Marvin Shinn, Vigor; Kardeem Poole, Prattville; Daryl Collins, Gadsden City.

Athlete – Emmanuel Johnson, McKenzie

Tight End -- Jaylon Denson, Hoover.

Offensive Linemen -- Reese Dismukes, Spanish Fort; Steven Jones, Foley; Nick Lawhorn, Foley; DaMon Husband, Williamson; Lance Schuffert, Prattville; Brandon Morgan, Hoover; Hayden Nauman, Decatur; C.H. Scruggs, Walker.

Kicker/Punter – Wilson Whorton, Briarwood Christian

Defensive Linemen -- JaMichael Payne, Auburn; Caleb Lawrence, Opelika; Allan Carson, Oxford; Jabrian Niles, Davidson; Dre'Shon McGaster, Foley.

Defensive Ends/Linebackers -- Blake Dees, Spanish Fort; Bronterrious Jakes, Central-Phenix City; Miller Williams, Mountain Brook; Terrick Wright, Gadsden City; Brent Calloway, Russellville; Desmond Lavelle, Decatur; Denzell Perine, Davidson.

Defensive Backs -- Eric Dixon, Vigor; Enrique Florence, Valley; Jonathan Rose, Leeds; Jacquese Kirk, Walker; Christion Jones, Minor; Anthony Swain, Gadsden City.

Coaching Staff – Head Coach: Fred Yancey, Briarwood Christian

Assistant Coaches: Alvin Briggs, Florence; Tripp Curry, Cherokee County; Chris Fancher, Gardendale; Tom Causey, Demopolis; David Lowery, Brantley; Al Pogue, Carver-Montgomery; Geoff Walters, Briarwood Christian (scout).

Scout Football Top Stories