Alabama All-Stars announced

MONTGOMERY – Quarterbacks Jameis Winston of Hueytown and Jonathan Wallace of Central-Phenix City High Schools headline the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team selected to face Mississippi in the 25th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 10.

The squad, comprised of current high school seniors, was announced Wednesday by Steve Bailey, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The annual contest, an event of the AHSADCA and the Alabama High School Athletic Association, is moving to Montgomery's Cramton Bowl with the kickoff set for 12:30 p.m.

Alabama holds a 17-7 edge in the series played at Mobile's Ladd-Peebles Stadium every year since its inception in 1988. Alabama won last year's game 24-17 in two overtimes and currently owns a three-game winning streak in the series.

Head coach for the Alabama All-Stars is Decatur Coach Jere Adcock.

Winston, a 6-foot-4, 200-pound senior who has guided Hueytown to a 6-0 record this season, is rated the top quarterback prospect in the nation by several recruiting outlets. He is also projected to be a high draft choice in the Professional Baseball Draft next June. Winston earned North Team MVP honors in the 2011 All-Star Sports Week North-South baseball series. Wallace, a 6-1, 205-pound Southern Miss commitment, has guided Central to a 5-1 record and is also drawing rave reviews from recruiters. Both quarterbacks are strong passers and runners.

"We think this is one of the most talented teams we've had in years," said AHSADCA Director Steve Bailey. "The selection committee has done another outstanding job as usual in assembling our team."

Alabama's squad features 24 players who have already announced college choices, including five to the University of Alabama and two to Auburn University. Commitments to the Crimson Tide include Prattville offensive lineman Caleb Gulledge, Daphne linebacker Ryan Anderson, Thomasville linebacker Tyler Hayes, Bob Jones linebacker Reggie Ragland and Vigor defensive end Darius Philon. Daphne running back T.J. Yeldon and Escambia County defensive lineman Tyler Nero are committed to Auburn.

The largest player on the squad is Davidson's 6-5, 363-pound defensive lineman Alphonse Taylor, who has committed to Florida State. Vanderbilt commitment Torey Agee of Opelika, a 6-4, 250-pound defensive end, is the son of former Auburn and NFL standout Tommy Agee.

Purdue, Mississippi State, Kentucky, Troy, Samford, South Alabama and Georgia State also have at least one commitment on the Alabama squad with 16 players still uncommitted.

The 40-man roster and coaching staff for the 2011 All-Star Game include:

Brandon Burks, ATH, Daleville
Jonathan Wallace, Quarterback, Central-Phenix City
Jameis Winston, quarterback, Hueytown,
Kalif Koen, running back, Foley
DeAnte Lawrence, running back, Prattville
Troymaine Pope, running back, Anniston
T.J Yeldon, running back, Daphne
Parker Barrineau, wide receiver, American Christian
Cameron Broadnax, wide receiver, Hueytown
Justin Burdette, wide receiver, Clay-Chalkville
Cody Core, wide receiver, Auburn
Bob Pugh, wide receiver, Foley
Jonathan Curry, tight end, Central-Phenix City
Daniel Aust, offensive lineman, Hoover
Michael Flint, offensive lineman, Oxford
Steven Foster, offensive lineman, Demopolis
Caleb Gulledge, offensive lineman, Prattville
Caleb Peterson, offensive lineman, Auburn
Kyron Samuels, offensive lineman, Fairhope
Ben Tamburello, offensive lineman, Spain Park
Aaron Thomas, offensive lineman, Dothan
Ryan Anderson, linebacker, Daphne
Beniquez Brown, linebacker, Florence
Tyler Hayes, linebacker, Thomasville
Terris Lewis, linebacker, Linden
Joseph Peterson, linebacker, Dothan
Larry Pettaway, linebacker, Blount
Reggie Ragland, linebacker, Bob Jones
Kelton Brackett, defensive back, Blount
Kivon Coman, defensive back, Florence
Trae Elston, defensive back, Oxford
Jacoby Glenn, defensive back, Vigor
Chris Humes, defensive back, Spain Park
Derrick Moncrief, defensive back, Prattville
Jamarlo Alford, defensive lineman, Opelika
Tyler Nero, defensive lineman, Escambia County
Alphonse Taylor, defensive lineman, Davidson
Torey Agee, defensive lineman, Opelika
Darius Philon, defensive lineman, Vigor
Matt Pensa, punter/kicker, Austin

COACHING STAFF: Jere Adcock, Decatur (head coach); Don Jacobs, Oneonta (offensive coordinator); Laron White, Tanner (offensive line); Glenn Vickery, Daphne (receivers); Bob Godsey, Hartselle (defensive coordinator); Jack Hankins, Thomasville (linebackers); Danny Powell, Jackson (defensive line); Lee Cagle, Decatur (scout coach).

Series record: Alabama 17 wins; Mississippi 7.
2010: Alabama 24, Mississippi 17 (2 OT)
2009: Alabama 21, Mississippi 13
2008: Alabama 28, Mississippi 3
2007 (December): Mississippi 26, Alabama 7
2007 (June): Alabama 51, Mississippi 14
2006: Alabama 24, Mississippi 3
2005: Mississippi 21, Alabama 18
2004: Alabama 24, Mississippi 22
2003: Alabama 24, Mississippi 16
2002: Alabama 29, Mississippi 17
2001: Alabama 33, Mississippi 14
2000: Alabama 16, Mississippi 9
1999: Alabama 28, Mississippi 24
1998: Mississippi 9, Alabama 0
1997: Alabama 10, Mississippi 6
1996: Alabama 17, Mississippi 14
1995: Mississippi 37, Alabama 9
1994: Mississippi 24, Alabama 10
1993: Mississippi 17, Alabama 6
1992: Mississippi 17, Alabama 14
1991: Alabama 15, Mississippi 13
1990: Alabama 24, Mississippi 14 (OT)
1989: Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (4 OT)
1988: Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (3 OT)

Follow Andrew Bone on TWITTER for the very latest recruiting news.
Follow!/AndrewJBone on Twitter

Scout Football Top Stories