Three PSU Commits Playing in Chesapeake Bowl

Penn State commits Brandon Bell, Andrew Nelson and Curtis Cothran accepted invitations to play in the Chesapeake Bowl on Dec. 29 in Hyattsville, Md.

Before Curtis Cothran, Brandon Bell and Andrew Nelson play together at Penn State, they will share a locker room at the Chesapeake Bowl.

The three Penn State commits will play for the North in the third-year all-star game, which pits players from Washington, D.C., Maryland and Virginia (South team) against players from Delaware, Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

"It's a great feeling being invited to play, knowing your considered one of the best in the region," said Bell, a middle linebacker from Oakcrest High in Mays Landing, N.J. "I think it's cool playing with some guys I'll be with for the next couple of years."

The game is Dec. 29 at Marvin F. Wilson Stadium in Hyattsville, Md. Kickoff is 2 p.m.

"I feel great about this game," said Cothran, a defense end at Council Rock North High in Newtown, Pa. "Having the chance to play against great competition from different parts of the (region) is an honor and a blessing."

For Bell and Cothran, the game will mark their first football activity in more than a month. Oakcrest is 0-6 and Council Rock North is 3-5, although Cothran is having a strong season in which he has 27 tackles and eight sacks.

Nelson, an offensive lineman at Hershey (Pa.) High, has a chance to make the postseason. The Trojans are 5-3 heading into tonight's game at Red Land High of Lewisberry, Pa.

The game features many of the top players from the area, including players committed to schools such as Notre Dame (Devin Butler, Rashad Kinlaw and Doug Randolph), Ohio State (Taivon Jacobs), Tennessee (Paul Harris), Georgia Tech (Kevin Robbins and Darius Commissiong), Maryland (Derwin Gray, Millan Collins and Cavon Walker), West Virginia (Zaire Williams and Daryl Worley), Rutgers (Sebastian Joseph and Myles Nash) and Arizona (Tommy Woodson).

Also committed to play in the game are highly-rated non-committed prospects Na'Ty Rodgers of McDonough High (Pomfret,Md.), Yannick Ngakoue of Friendship Collegiate (Washington, D.C.), Andre Patton of St. Elizabeth High (Wilmington, Del.) and Dorian Miller of Metuchen (N.J.) High.

Scout Football Top Stories