2014 D3 Preseason Preview

Top 10 teams, preseason all-state team and more inside...



Front Runner- Saguaro


I don’t think anyone will second guess this pick. The Sabercats are loaded.


The Contenders


Desert Edge


The Scorpions lose a ton of talent but the cupboard isn’t bare. They have a massive OL, a very talented young RB in Roshaun Johnson and one of the top coaching staffs in the state.


Queen Creek


Coming off an 11-3 year and a state title game appearance, QC has the pieces in place to make another run, led by 2,300 yard rusher Weston Barlow.


Williams Field


WF quietly has been one of the best teams in the state. A close loss to Queen Creek kept them out of the title game last year. Coach Campbell has a talented roster, poised to make a title run.


In The Mix




The Cobras have too much talent to go 6-5 again. They have a giant offensive line, talent at both RB and QB, and always play tough defense. I think Cactus is a team that people are overlooking headed into 2014.


Canyon del Oro


The Dorados surprised everyone last year. After going 4-6 in 2012, they went 10-2 last year, losing a close game to Williams Field in the quarters. They lost a lot of firepower but are strong in the trenches.




Head coach Jay Campos has some great talent at the skill positions.


Sleepers- Tempe, Higley, Sunrise Mountain, Catalina Foothills, Peoria


Questions: Is Saguaro the best team overall in the state at any level? First it was Sawyer Lung, then Anthony Hernandez, can Tehran Thomas put up the same crazy numbers at Desert Edge? Can Weston Barlow top 2,000 yards for a second straight season? Peoria had a crazy run last year, can they do it again?


Top 10


1. Saguaro

2. Queen Creek

3. Williams Field

4. Desert Edge

5. Cactus

6. Sabino

7. Canyon del Oro

8. Tempe

9. Sunrise Mountain

10. Catalina Foothills


D3 Preseason All-State


QB- Emanuel Gant - Tempe

RB- Weston Barlow – Queen Creek, Antwain Marlowe - Washington

WR- Christian Kirk - Saguaro Kenney Owens – Williams Field

TE- Josh Marquez - Greenway

OL- Kayden Lyles – Saguaro, Cade Cote – Williams Field, Jacob Leonard – Sunrise Mountain, Jared McElmell – Canyon del Oro, Kelvyn Martin - Cactus

DL- Dominic Natoli - Saguaro, Michael Peoples – Agua Fria, Marcus Edwards - Sabino, Skylar Bollman – Queen Creek

LB- Keanu Lankster – Casa Grande, Jaxxon Fagg – Williams Field, Nate Neville – Queen Creek

DB- Byron Murphy – Saguaro, Colten Audsley – Bradshaw Mountain, Shannon Burton – Moon Valley, Marquis Chamblee - Sabino

AP- Kamron Johnson - Saguaro

Ret- Fayvon Irelan – Independence

K- Blake Ruiz – Williams Field

P- Trent Gilbert - Higley


Player of the Year: Christian Kirk – WR/DB Saguaro

Coach of the Year: Larry Fetkenhier - Cactus

Scout Football Top Stories