2011 All-America Team

Below is this year's All-America Team, including the offensive player of the year, defensive player of the year, and national coach of the year, as voted upon by the football experts from around the country.

Offensive Player of the Year: Robert Griffin, Baylor

Perhaps the most electric player in Baylor history, Griffin has passed for a school-record 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns with just six interceptions. Nicknamed "RG3", Griffin leads the nation with a 192.31 passing efficiency.  He's also rushed for 644 yards and nine touchdowns.

Defensive Player of the Year: Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

The "Honey Badger" has done it all for the top-ranked Tigers this season.  Mathieu leads LSU in tackles (70), forced fumbles (six) and fumble recoveries (five) and also has added a pair of interceptions.  He's returned a pair of punts for touchdowns, one against Arkansas that clinched the SEC West and one against Georgia in the SEC Championship Game.

National Coach of the Year: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

Gundy has his alma mater, Oklahoma State, in their first BCS Bowl Game in school history and led the Cowboys to an 11-1 season and their first ever Big 12 title.  In fact, it was the Cowboys' first conference title since 1976 when they won a share of the Big Eight and their first outright conference title since 1948 when the Cowboys won the Missouri Valley Conference. All-America First Team
QB Robert Griffin Baylor Junior
RB Trent Richardson Alabama Junior
RB Montee Ball Wisconsin Junior
WR Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State Junior
WR Robert Woods USC Sophomore
TE Tyler Eifert Notre Dame Junior
OL Barrett Jones Alabama Junior
OL Jonathan Martin Stanford Junior
OL David DeCastro Stanford Junior
OL Will Blackwell LSU Senior
OL Dave Molk Michigan Senior
AP Sammy Watkins Clemson Freshman
DL Whitney Mercilus Illinois Junior
DL Sam Montgomery LSU Sophomore
DL Devon Still Penn State Senior
DL Jerel Worthy Michigan State Junior
LB Jarvis Jones Georgia Sophomore
LB Luke Kuechly Boston College Junior
LB Courtney Upshaw Alabama Senior
DB Morris Claiborne LSU Junior
DB Tyrann Mathieu LSU Sophomore
DB Mark Barron Alabama Senior
DB Bacarri Rambo Georgia Junior
K Randy Bullock Texas A&M Senior
P Brad Wing LSU Freshman
APB Joe Adams Arkansas Senior All-America Second Team
QB Andrew Luck Stanford Junior
RB LaMichael James Oregon Junior
RB David Wilson Virginia Tech Junior
WR Patrick Edwards Houston Senior
WR Kendall Wright Baylor Senior
TE Coby Fleener Stanford Senior
OL Cordy Glenn Georgia Senior
OL Matt Kalil USC Junior
OL Kevin Zeitler Wisconsin Senior
OL Lane Taylor Oklahoma State Junior
OL William Vlachos Alabama Senior
AP DeAnthony Thomas Oregon Freshman
DL Melvin Ingram South Carolina Senior
DL Vinny Curry Marshall Senior
DL Derek Wolfe Cincinnati Senior
DL Aaron Donald Pittsburgh Sophomore
LB Sean Spence Miami Senior
LB Manti Te'o Notre Dame Junior
LB Dont'a Hightower Alabama Junior
DB Dre Kilpatrick Alabama Junior
DB David Amerson NC State Sophomore
DB T.J. McDonald USC Junior
DB Markelle Martin Oklahoma State Senior
K Caleb Sturgis Florida Junior
P Shawn Powell Florida State Senior
APB Tyrann Mathieu LSU Sophomore

Want more inside the locker room access? Click Here and choose your favorite team.

Scout CFB Top Stories