Marcus Mariota Wins Heisman, Surprises No One

One year ago Marcus Mariota made one of the toughest decisions of his life—he chose to stay in school for another year. Tonight, he was rewarded with the 80th Heisman Trophy.

Congratulations, Marcus Mariota!

In one of the least surprising decisions since Adam picked Eve, Mariota became the first Heisman trophy winner in Oregon Duck history tonight, taking home college football's most prestigious award. The redshirt junior led the Ducks to No. 2 in the first College Football Playoff rankings, punching his ticket to the Rose Bowl.

He was gracious and reserved in victory, taking his time to shake both Melvin Gordon and Amari Cooper's hands as he walked slowly to the stage. In his speech, too, he deflected, saying, "This award belongs to my teammates. thank you to the offensive line, who's fought through adversity. Thank you to the guys at skill positions, who make my job so much ea and to Duck fans everywhere, thank you." He also spent time talking about how he hoped his success would inspire the Polynesian community before tearfully turning to his family.

"Mom, dad, Matt, and the rest of my family, thank you. Thank you for sacrificing and providing me and Matt every opportunity we could ever have. Words can't express what you mean to me, and I'm truly grateful to have you in my life... God bless, and go Ducks."

Mariota won in a landslide. He received (90.9% of the 1st place votes - the second highest percentage ever - and 2,534 total points). He is the eighth quarterback in the last nine years to win the award. He also breaks a two-year run of freshman quarterbacks winning the award.

Melvin Gordon finished second, receiving 1,250 points and, though he received more first-place votes than Gordon, Amari Cooper) finished third with 1,023 points.

Mariota is adding to his already impressive list of hardware. On Thursday night he won the Walter Camp player of the year award, the Maxwell Award as the nation's most outstanding player, and the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. Now eight of the past nine winners of the Davey O'Brien Award have won the Heisman trophy. Mariota was also the first Oregon Duck to win those three awards.

Mariota passed for 3,783 yards, a 68.3 completion percentage, 10.2 yards per attempt, 38 touchdowns, only 2 interceptions, for a NCAA leading 186.3 passer rating. On the ground he added 669 yards and 14 touchdowns at a 5.7 yard-per-carry clip. In total, he accounted for a Pac-12 record and NCAA leading 53 touchdowns.

Mariota faces off against Jameis Winston and Florida State on January 1st in the Rose Bowl for the chance to play in the national championship game. That game will feature the last two Heisman trophy winners.

Mariota will go down as the greatest Oregon Duck of all time whether or not he decides to go forego his senior season to enter the NFL draft.

In honor of Marcus Mariota winning the 80th Heisman Trophy, we're offering a limited number of Rose Bowl Tickets ($150 face value) for $80. Click here for this special offer.

Show your support for Mariota and the Ducks—stock up on gear by clicking here!

Scout CFB Top Stories