Big 12 to Dicuss Expansion with 17 schools

The Big 12 Conference is taking another step closer toward adding more teams.

The Big 12 conference has finalized its list of potential expansion schools, according to ESPN. 

Of the 17 schools in contention, 16 have been revealed: Cincinnati, Houston, BYU, South Florida, UCFConnecticut, Memphis, Colorado State, Boise State, Tulane, Temple, East Carolina, SMU, New Mexico, Northern Illinois, and San Diego State

Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby will conduct video conferences with each of the 17 schools before the final decision is made, according to ESPN. A ballpark timetable for these interviews has yet to be announced.

Sources told ESPN that it is "becoming less and less likely" for the Big 12 to expand to a 14-team conference. The two most likely scenarios are for the Big 12 to maintain at 10 teams or add an additional two teams so the conference can split evenly with two divisions of six, just like the Pac-12. 

The Big 12 has seen teams come and go over the past six years. Nebraska and Colorado departed the Big 12 before the 2010-11 academic year, leaving the conference with 10 teams. Missouri and Texas A&M were the next to leave two years later before the 2012-13 academic year. TCU and West Virginia soon took their place.


Scout CFB Top Stories