Mathews Named Doak Walker Semifinalist

DALLAS, TEXAS – The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2009 Doak Walker Award...

The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Donald Buckram (Jr.) UTEP
Jonathan Dwyer (Jr.) Georgia Tech
Toby Gerhart (Sr.) Stanford
Mark Ingram (So.) Alabama
Dion Lewis (Fr.) Pittsburgh
Ryan Mathews (Jr.) Fresno State
Jacquizz Rodgers (So.) Oregon State
C.J. Spiller (Sr.) Clemson
Ben Tate (Sr.) Auburn
Ryan Williams (Fr.) Virginia Tech

The 130 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2009 finalists. On Monday, November 23, three finalists will be named, and a second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2009 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 10.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-American running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

BarkBoard Top Stories