Gala Night in Athens

ATHENS - Georgia passed out awards at its annual senior gala.

Junior wide receiver A.J. Green of Summerville, S.C.; redshirt freshman quarterback Aaron Murray of Tampa, Fla.; junior linebacker Justin Houston of Statesboro; junior placekicker Blair Walsh of Boca Raton, Fla.; and junior punter Drew Butler of Duluth took home the top awards at the University of Georgia football annual team Gala Saturday night at the Classic Center in Athens.

Green was named the recipient of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year Award, Murray was named the team's Most Valuable Offensive Player, and Houston received the Most Valuable Defensive Player honors. Walsh and Butler were named Most Valuable Special Teams players.

Senior fullback Shaun Chapas of St. Augustine, Fla., was named winner of the David Jacobs Award as the player who by example portrays courage, spirit, character, and determination.

Chapas was also named the team's overall permanent captain for 2010. Senior offensive lineman Clint Boling of Alpharetta was elected as the team's offensive captain, senior linebacker Akeem Dent of Atlanta was chosen the defensive captain, and Butler was named the special teams captain.

The Leon Farmer Award for dedication to the strength and conditioning program was presented to Chapas and Boling. Outstanding Scout Team Awards went to redshirt sophomore defensive end Jeremy Longo of Ft. Lauderdale (offense), freshman offensive lineman Hugh Williams of Atlanta and freshman receiver Michael Erdman of Merritt Island, Fla. (defense), and junior tailback Wes Van Dyke of Highland Park, Tex., and freshman safety Lucas Redd of Jefferson (special teams).

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to sophomore receiver Marlon Brown of Memphis, Tenn. (offense); senior linebacker Darryl Gamble of Bainbridge and redshirt sophomore safety Bacarri Rambo of Donalsonville (defense); and sophomore safety Shawn Williams of Damascus and redshirt sophomore cornerback Sanders Commings of Augusta (special teams).

Newcomer of the Year Award winners were redshirt freshman quarterback Aaron Murray of Tampa (offense), safety Alec Ogletree of Newnan (defense), and redshirt freshman Blake Sailors of Athens (special teams).

Coaches Leadership Awards went to junior center Ben Jones of Centreville, Ala. (offense), Dent and senior defensive end Demarcus Dobbs of Savannah (defense), and Chapas (special teams).

The Governor's Cup trophy for the victory over Georgia Tech was also officially presented by Shelton Stevens from Healthcare of Atlanta.

A special feature of the Gala was announcement of the Team of the Decade (2001-2010) determined through online voting by more than 37,000 ballots cast online through the official website. The team includes:

DE: Charles Grant and David Pollack
DT: Jeff Owens and Geno Atkins
OLB: Rennie Curran and Boss Bailey
ILB: Dannell Ellerbe and Odell Thurman
CB: Tim Jennings and Asher Allen
FS: Thomas Davis
SS: Greg Blue
P: Drew Butler

C: Ben Jones
OG: Fermando Velasco and Max Jean-Gilles
OT: Jon Stinchcomb and Clint Boling
TE: Ben Watson
WR: Mohamed Massaquoi and A.J. Green
FB: Brannan Southerland
TB: Knowshon Moreno
QB: David Greene
PK: Blair Walsh

Dawg Post Top Stories