Murray Headlines Spring Awards

ATHENS – Georgia head football coach Mark Richt announced the team's spring football awards Friday in conjunction with the coming weekend's annual spring G-Day football game.

The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring practice to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the field.

Highlighting the list of awards were the recipients of the long-standing Coffee County Hustle Award given annually to the players showing the most desire during spring drills. Recipients include Kolton Houston, OT, Buford, Ga., and Christian Robinson, ILB, Norcross, Ga.

The list of 2011 awards is as follows:

MVP (offense): Aaron Murray, QB, Tampa, Fla.; Orson Charles, TE, Tampa, Fla.

True Grit Award (Offense): Ben Jones, C, Centreville, Ala.

Coffee County Hustle Award (Offense): Kolton Houston, OT, Buford, Ga.

Most Improved Player (Offense): Alexander Ogletree, FB, Newnan, Ga.; Hutson Mason, QB, Marietta, Ga.

Outstanding Walk-On (Offense): Brandon Harton, TB, Reidsville, Ga.; Taylor Bradberry, FLK, Winder, Ga.

MVP (Defense): Kwame Geathers, N, Georgetown, S.C.

True Grit Award (Defense): Brandon Boykin, CB/KOR, Fayetteville, Ga.; Shawn Williams, FS, Damascus, Ga.

Coffee County Hustle Award (Defense): Christian Robinson, ILB, Norcross, Ga.

Most Improved Player (Defense): Jordan Love, CB, Glen Allen, Va.; Branden Smith, CB, Atlanta, Ga.

Outstanding Walk-On (Defense): Connor Norman, CB, Duluth, Ga.

Dawg Post Top Stories