Jones named Lombardi Award finalist

Barrett Jones was named one of four finalists for the Lombardi Award, which honors the nation's best linebacker or interior lineman.

Barrett Jones was named one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award, which honors the best linebacker or interior lineman in college football.

Jones was also named a finalist for the Outland Trophy (nation's best lineman) earlier this week. He won the award last year.

Other Lombardi finalists include South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o.

Jones is the 10th Crimson Tide player—fifth in the last five years—to be named a finalist for this award. Recent Alabama finalists include Andre Smith (2008), Terrence Cody ('09), Dont'a Hightower ('11) and Courtney Upshaw ('12). The only Alabama player to ever win it was linebacker Cornelius Bennett in 1986.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 5.

For more Alabama coverage, follow Laken Litman on Twitter!
Now Playing
No. 17 DE Malik Herring Names Top Five
No. 18 S Xavier McKinney Breaks his Silence
Insider Report: The Landscape of UGA's 2018
Who's Next for Georgia on the OL?
2018 DE Brenton Cox is Quietly Blowing Up

Dawg Post Top Stories