Herschel Named FWAA All-American

ATHENS - Herschel Walker and Kevin Butler, teammates during the 1981-82 seasons, were named to the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America first team, announced Thursday morning by the FWAA.

Cornerback/receiver Champ Bailey, three-year star from 1996-98, was named a second-team FWAA All-American.

The FWAA's announcement of its three All-america teams marks the 75th anniversary of the organization's founding in 1941. The FWAA has selected All-America teams each year since the 1944 season. Balloting for the teams began in the spring and involved participation from the entire FWAA membership. Selection of the teams also involved a "Blue Ribbon" committee of past FWAA presidents, current board members and officers. In order for a player to be considered for the FWAA’s 75th team, he had to be on a previous FWAA All-America team.

Walker is perhaps the most decorated player in UGA history. He won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 1982 after finishing second as a sophomore and third as a freshman. He led Georgia to a three-year record of 33-3-1, a national championship in 1980, three SEC titles and three straight Sugar Bowl appearances. At the end of his college career, during which he rushed for 5,259 yards and 52 TDs, he held over 50 records on the school, conference and national levels.

Butler was a two-time All-American (1983-84) and four-time All-SEC selection. During his career at UGA, he kicked 77 field goals, including the two longest in school history: 60 yards vs. Clemson in 1984 and 59 yards vs. Ole Miss in 1982. He set an NCAA record with 27 multiple field-goal games and still owns UGA marks for field goals over 50 yards (11) and highest percentage of made FGs over 50 yards (52.4%).

Bailey is regarded as Georgia's most versatile player since the inception of two-platoon football. He played wide receiver, corner and also as a return specialist for the Bulldogs during the 1996-98 seasons. In the '98 season alone -- after which he won consensus All-America honors -- he played more than 1,000 total plays, had 52 solo tackles, three interceptions, 744 receiving yards, five TDs, 261 kickoff return yards and 49 punt return yards. The FWAA recognized him that year with the Bronko Nagurski Award, which goes annually to the nation's best defensive player.

The Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas that involve the game.

Dawg Post Top Stories