SEC: Four UGA Players on All-SEC Teams

ATHENS - SEC coaches agreed with the media in placing the same four Georgia players first team on its preseason All-SEC team.

The coaches team came out Tuesday with running back Nick Chubb, offensive tackle John Theus, linebacker Jordan Jenkins and kicker Marshall Morgan tabbed first team. That matched the media’s selections last month.

Guard Greg Pyke, receiver Malcolm Mitchell and returner Isaiah McKenzie were second team picks and linebackers Leonard Floyd and Lorenzo Carter made third team. The media also had Pyke and Carter in those same spots placed Floyd on the second team Mitchell on the third and left McKenzie off all three teams.

  This and that

Louisiana-Monroe coach Todd Berry named redshirt freshman quarterback Garrett Smith the starter against Georgia. Smith is a 6-foot 211-pound Spring Valley, Texas product who passes for 2,085 yards with 21 touchdowns and three interceptions as a high school senior.

John Theus has been added to the watch list for the Rotary Lombardi Award for nation’s top lineman.

The top five receivers based on Tuesday’s practice includes Malcolm Mitchell, Isaiah McKenzie, Reggie Davis, Terry Godwin and Michael Chigbu. Godwin and Chigbu are freshmen.

Dawg Post Top Stories