UGA Announces 2017 Spring Awards

ATHENS - Jonathan Ledbetter of Tucker, Ga., sophomore running back Brian Herrien of Douglasville, Ga., and sophomore tight end Charlie Woerner of Tiger, Ga., have been named the recipients of the Coffee County Hustle Award highlighting the annual spring football award winners.

The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring practice to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the field.  The Coffee County Hustle Award is given each year to players showing the most desire during spring drills.


For the first time, Bulldog head coach Kirby Smart presented the awards to all of the honorees on the Sanford Stadium field following the G-Day game on April 22.


The of 2016 awards is as follows:


OFFENSE: Most Improved – Solomon Kindley, OL, Jacksonville, Fla.; Elijah Holyfield, TB, College Park, Ga.; Outstanding Walk-On – Sean Fogarty, OL, Savannah, Ga.; Coffee County Hustle Award – Brian Herrien, TB, Douglasville, Ga.; Charlie Woerner, TE, Tiger, Ga.; Hugh Hendrix Award (Player Who Most Strains His Potential) – Terry Godwin, WR, Hogansville, Ga.; Pat Allen, OL, Reisterstown, Md.; Own The Trenches Award – Lamont Gaillard, Jr., Fayetteville, N.C.; Sustainable Force Award – Dyshon Sims, OL, Valdosta, Ga.; Physicality/Headhunter Award – Isaiah Wynn, OL, St. Petersburg, Fla.


DEFENSE: Most Improved – Chauncey Manac, OLB, Fargo, Ga.; J.R. Reed, DB, Frisco, Texas; Outstanding Walk-On – Tim Hill, DB, Atlanta, Ga.; Coffee County Hustle Award – Jonathan Ledbetter, DE, Tucker, Ga.; Hugh Hendrix Award (Player Who Most Strains His Potential) – Tyrique McGhee, DB, Byron, Ga.; Own The Trenches Award – Tyler Clark, DL, Americus, Ga.; Sustainable Focus Award – Reggie Carter, ILB, Snellville, Ga.; Physicality/Headhunter Award – D’Andre Walker, OLB, Fairburn, Ga.


SPECIAL TEAMS: Special Teams Weapon Award – Jarvis Wilson, SS, Tupelo, Miss.; Rashad Roundtree, S, Evans, Ga.


ACADEMICS: Freshmen GPA Award – Josh Moran (4.00), WR, Alpharetta, Ga., Prather Hudson (3.69), TB, Columbus, Ga.; Sophomore GPA Award: Michael Keene (3.97), OLB, Savannah, Ga., Rodrigo Blankenship (3.74), PK, Marietta, Ga.; Junior GPA Award – Jacob Gross (3.87), ILB, Molena, Ga., Jackson Harris (3.76), TE, Columbia, Tenn.; Senior GPA Award – John Courson (4.0), SN, Athens, Ga., Aaron Davis (3.47), DB, Locust Grove, Ga.


COMMUNITY SERVICE: Jeb Blazevich, TE, Charlotte, N.C.; Rodrigo Blankenship, PK, Marietta, Ga.; Reggie Carter, ILB, Snellville, Ga.; Michael Chigbu, WR, New Orleans, La.

Dawg Post Top Stories