Spring Awards Announced

ATHENS, Ga. --- The University of Georgia football team announced their spring football awards this week. The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring drills to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the practice field. With the exception of the "Junkyard Dawg Award," which will be presented at halftime of Saturday's G-Day game, the 2004 awards are as follows:

2004 Spring Award Winners
Award Recipient
Best All-Around Offensive Player David Greene, QB, Snellville
True Grit Award Kregg Lumpkin, TB, Lithonia;
Kedrick Golston, DT, Tyrone
Most Improved Offensive Lineman Ken Shackleford, OT, Villa Rica
Most Improved Receiver T.J. Gartrell, WR, Lithonia
Most Improved Running Back Kregg Lumpkin, TB, Lithonia
Biggest Surprise of Spring (Offense) A.J. Bryant, WR, Fort Valley
Outstanding Walk-on (Offense) John LaValley, FLK, Athens
Most Consistent Receiver Bryan McClendon, WR, Atlanta
Best All-Around Defensive Player Odell Thurman, MLB, Monticello
Outstanding Defensive Lineman Gerald Anderson, NT; Waycross;
Kedrick Golston, DT, Tyrone
Best Tackler Thomas Davis, FS, Shellman
Most Improved Defensive Lineman Marcus Jackson, DE, Norcross;
Dale Dixson, NT, Garland, Tex.
Most Improved Linebacker Danny Verdun Wheeler, SLB, Thomson
Most Improved Defensive Back DeMario Minter, CB, Stone Mountain
Biggest Surprise of the Spring (Defense) Drew Williams, DB, Blairsville
Outstanding Walk-on (Defense) Drew Williams, DB, Blairsville
Biggest Hit of the Spring Drew Williams, DB, Blairsville
Coffee County "Hustle Award" Nick Jones, OG, Bowdon;
Bryan McClendon, WR, Atlanta;
David Pollack, DE, Snellville;
Will Thompson, DE, Warner Robins

Dawg Post Top Stories