G-Day Notebook: Coutu wins kicking competition

ATHENS — Sophomore walk-on Brandon Coutu won the kicking competition at halftime of Saturday's G-Day game.

Coutu and sophomore scholarship kicker Andy Bailey each attempted six kicks. Brandon Coutu made 5 of 6, missing only from 56 yards. He came back and hit one from 56 following his miss.

Bailey made 4 of 6, missing wide left from 32 yards and short from 52 yards. Bailey then hit from 56 and 57 yards.

"That's about how it's been all spring, very close but Coutu has been a little bit ahead," said Georgia head coach Mark Richt.

Coutu remains the Bulldogs' No. 1 kicker, but the players will continue to compete into the fall, Richt said.

INJURY UPDATE: The only Bulldog expected to participate who did not was guard Bartley Miller. Miller aggravated an old shoulder injury in the final week of spring practice. Center Russ Tanner (ankle), defensive tackle Kedric Golston (turf toe), safety Tra Battle (back), linebacker Jamario Smith (back), fullback Brannan Southerland (concussion), safety Olaulu Sanni-Osomo (knee) and running back Kregg Lumpkin (knee) were not expected to play and didn't.

NOTHING NEW: Tight end Leonard Pope bruised his knee slightly, but that was the only injury of the game.

"This entire spring, we've been very fortunate in that area," Richt said.

Last spring, starting linebacker Tony Taylor was lost for the season in the G-Day game.

SPRING AWARDS: Georgia announced its spring football awards before the game. Tight end Leonard Pope was named the best offensive player, and cornerback Tim Jennings was named best defensive player.

The rest of the awards went to the following players: Tony Milton and DeMario Minter (True Grit Award); Chester Adams (most improved offensive lineman); Peach County's A.J. Bryant (most improved receiver); Brannan Southerland (most improved running back); Michael Turner (biggest surprise of spring, offense); Jason Johnson (outstanding walk-on, offense); Thomas Brown and Danny Ware (most consistent running back); Gerald Anderson (outstanding defensive lineman); Greg Blue (best tackler), Hawkinsville's Charles Johnson (most improved defensive lineman); Kelin Johnson and Thomas Flowers (most improved defensive back); Dannell Ellerbe and Brandon Miller (most improved linebacker); Jeremy Lomax (biggest surprise of spring, defense); Andrew Williams (outstanding walk-on, defense); Dennis Roland, Nick Jones, Quentin Moses and Mike Gilliam (Coffee County Hustle Award); and Max Jean-Gilles and Gerald Anderson (Junkyard Dog Award).

Dawg Post Top Stories