Two Dawgs make All-SEC

<b>Jarvis Hayes</b> makes first team All-SEC and <b>Ezra Williams</b> makes third team All-SEC.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men's basketball postseason awards Monday to cap off one of the most exciting seasons in league history.

Alabama swept the major awards voted on by the league's coaches, as Crimson Tide head coach Mark Gottfried was awarded SEC Coach of the Year honors while forward/center Erwin Dudley was named SEC Player of the Year and guard Maurice Williams earned SEC Freshman of the Year honors.

Gottfried led the Alabama to their first-ever Western Division title and their first SEC Championship since UA's 1987 squad. Alabama enters the SEC Tournament with a top seed for the first time since they won the SEC Tournament Championship in 1987. He is the first Alabama coach to win the award since Wimp Sanderson won the award in 1989. Gottfried guided his squad to a league-best 24-6 record (12-4 in SEC play) and what will be their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1995. In four seasons in Tuscaloosa, he has compiled a 79-48 (.622) record.

Dudley garnered SEC Player of the Year honors in leading Alabama to both the SEC and West Division titles. He becomes the first Crimson Tide player to win the honor since Derrick McKey earned the first award voted on by the coaches in 1987. Dudley was the only unanimous pick for the All-SEC First Team. Florida's Udonis Haslem, Georgia's Jarvis Hayes, Kentucky's Tayshaun Prince and Tennessee's Vincent Yarbrough were also first team All-SEC selections.

Alabama's Maurice Williams was a unanimous selection for the SEC Freshman of the Year award. Williams was also the only unanimous pick for the SEC All-Freshman Team which also features Auburn's Brandon Robinson, Florida's David Lee, Kentucky's Chuck Hayes and Vanderbilt's Brian Thornton.

A complete list of the 2002 SEC Men's Basketball postseason awards follows.

Player, School Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
First Team All-SEC
Erwin Dudley, Alabama* F/C 6-8 260 Jr. Uniontown, Ala.
Udonis Haslem, Florida C 6-9 246 Sr. Miami, Fla.
Jarvis Hayes, Georgia G/F 6-6 200 So. Atlanta, Ga.
Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky G/F 6-9 215 Sr. Compton, Calif.
Vincent Yarbrough, Tennessee F 6-7 210 Sr. Cleveland, Tenn.
Second Team All-SEC
Matt Bonner, Florida F 6-10 237 Jr. Concord, N.H.
Brett Nelson, Florida G 6-4 182 Jr. St. Albans, W.Va.
Ronald Dupree, LSU G/F 6-6 210 Jr. Biloxi, Miss.
Justin Reed, Ole Miss F 6-8 225 So. Jackson, Miss.
Mario Austin, Mississippi State F/C 6-9 265 So. York, Ala.
Marcus Haislip, Tennessee F 6-10 230 Jr. Lewisburg, Tenn.
Third Team All-SEC
Rod Grizzard, Alabama G 6-8 205 Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
Jannero Pargo, Arkansas G 6-2 165 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Ezra Williams, Georgia G 6-4 205 Jr. Marietta, Ga.
Jamel Bradley, South Carolina G 6-2 170 Sr. Beckley, W.Va.
Matt Freije, Vanderbilt F 6-9 210 So. Shawnee Mission, Kan.
SEC All-Freshman Team
Maurice Williams, Alabama*
Brandon Robinson, Auburn
David Lee, Florida
Chuck Hayes, Kentucky
Brian Thornton, Vanderbilt
SEC Player of the Year
Erwin Dudley, Alabama
SEC Coach of the Year
Mark Gottfried, Alabama
SEC Freshman of the Year
Maurice Williams, Alabama*
* Unanimous Selection; Ties are not broken

Dawg Post Top Stories