Landers Announces Lady Bulldogs' 2005-06 Schedule

ATHENS - Five games against teams which advanced to the 2005 NCAA Final Four and four non-conference homecoming trips for current players highlight the 2005-06 Georgia Lady Bulldog basketball schedule, head coach Andy Landers announced on Wednesday.

All told, the Lady Dogs will play 11 games against teams which reached the 2005 NCAA Tournament.

"We've got an extremely challenging and difficult schedule in front of us," Landers said. "Hopefully, we have the experience, maturity and ability to meet that challenge."

As previously announced, the Lady Dogs will open the campaign by facing defending national champion Baylor on Sunday, Nov. 13, at 1:00 p.m. ET in the State Farm Tip-Off Classic in Lubbock, Texas. In addition, Georgia will face conference foes and Final Four participants LSU and Tennessee on a home-and-home basis during the season.

"We always play one of the most challenging schedules in the country," Landers said. "Our RPI in past years would render that to be the case. However, this year we got a little assistance in terms of the difficulty from the Southeastern Conference when we picked up both LSU and Tennessee in our two-game rotation."

Along with Baylor, other 2005 NCAA Tournament teams on tap during the non-conference schedule include the home opener against Santa Clara on Friday, Nov. 18; a game at TCU on Monday, Nov. 21; and trips to Middle Tennessee on Wednesday, Nov. 30 and Temple on Monday, Dec. 19.

NCAA squads on tap in SEC play include the SEC opener at Ole Miss on Thursday, Jan. 5; dates with Tennessee in Knoxville on Thursday, Jan. 12, and in Athens on Thursday, Feb. 16; games with LSU in Athens on Sunday, Jan. 22 and in Baton Rouge on Sunday, Feb. 12; and a trip to Vanderbilt on Sunday, Feb. 19.

During November and December, Georgia will spend much of its time on the road in locales familiar to several current Lady Bulldogs.

On Monday, Nov. 21, Georgia will play at TCU in Fort Worth, Texas, the hometown of senior Desiré Bostice. The Lady Bulldogs will then travel to Los Angeles -- senior Alexis Kendrick's hometown -- for the Loyola Marymount Thanksgiving Tournament on Nov. 25 and Nov. 26.

On Monday, Dec. 19, the Lady Dogs will play at Temple in Philadelphia. During the summer of 2002, junior Cori Chambers played AAU basketball for the Philadelphia Runnin' Rebels. Prior to the New Year, Georgia will play games at Memphis on Thursday, Dec. 29 and at Tennessee-Martin on Friday, Dec. 30. Both of those games will give friends and family a chance to see junior Rebecca Rowsey, a native of Henderson, Tenn.

"When we recruit players from other areas of the country, we try to get them back home at least once," Landers said. "Playing at home is always an enjoyable experience, not only for those players but also for the rest of the team because it gives them a chance to meet their teammate's families and friends and get to know even more about them."

The 2005-06 Lady Bulldogs return all five starters and four more letterwinners from last year's squad which finished 24-10 and advanced to the "Sweet 16" of the NCAA Tournament. In addition, Ebony Felder -- a three-year letterwinner from 2002-04 -- was recently granted a sixth year to complete her collegiate eligibility by the NCAA. Georgia also will welcome a group of talented newcomers which includes: 6-5 Angel Robinson, a consensus first-team prep All-American; 6-6 Reicina Russell, a sophomore transfer who was a Freshman All-Big Ten performer for Penn State in 2003-04; and Danielle Taylor, the MVP of the 2005 Georgia North/South All-Star game.

2005-06 Georgia Lady Bulldog Schedule


Tues. Nov. 1 Exhib. - Augusta State Athens 7:00
Sun. Nov. 6 Exhib. - EA Sports Athens 2:30
Sun. Nov. 13 # vs. Baylor Lubbock, Texas 1:00
Fri. Nov. 18 Santa Clara Athens 7:00
Mon. Nov. 21 at Texas Christian Fort Worth, Texas 8:00
Fri. Nov. 25 & vs. UCLA Los Angeles, Calif. 8:00
Sat. Nov. 26 & vs. Charlotte/Loyola Marymount Los Angeles,
Calif. 6:00 or 8:00
Wed. Nov. 30 at Middle Tennessee Murfreesboro, Tenn. 8:00
Sun. Dec. 4 Georgia Tech Athens 2:00
Tues. Dec. 6 Iona Athens 7:00
Sat. Dec. 10 Savannah State Athens 7:00
Mon. Dec. 19 at Temple Philadelphia, Pa. 7:00
Thur. Dec. 29 at Memphis Memphis, Tenn. 8:00
Fri. Dec. 30 at Tennessee-Martin Martin, Tenn. 8:00
Thur. Jan. 5 * at Ole Miss Oxford, Miss. 8:00
Sun. Jan. 8 * Florida Athens 2:30
Thur. Jan. 12 * at Tennessee Knoxville, Tenn. 7:00
Sun. Jan. 15 % vs. Miami Duluth 1:00
Thur. Jan. 19 * Mississippi State Athens 7:00
Sun. Jan. 22 * LSU Athens 2:30
Thur. Jan. 26 * at South Carolina Columbia, S.C. 7:00
Sun. Jan. 29 * at Florida at Gainesville, Fla. 3:00
Thur. Feb. 2 * Kentucky Athens 7:00
Sun. Feb. 5 * Alabama Athens 2:30
Sun. Feb. 12 * at LSU Baton Rouge, La. 3:00
Thur. Feb. 16 * Tennessee Athens 7:00
Sun. Feb. 19 * at Vanderbilt Nashville, Tenn. 3:00
Thur. Feb. 23 * at Arkansas Fayetteville, Ark. 8:00
Sun. Feb. 26 * Auburn Athens 2:30
Thur.-Sun. March 2-5 SEC Tournament North Little Rock, Ark.

NCAA Tournament
Sat./Tues. March 18/21 First & Second Rounds Chicago, Ill; Denver, Colo.; Nashville, Tenn.; Norfolk, Va.; State College, Pa.; Trenton, N.J.; Tucson, Ariz.; West Lafayette, Ind.
Sat./Tues. March 25/28 Regionals Bridgeport, Conn.; Cleveland, Ohio; San Antonio, Texas; Albuquerque, N.M.
Sun./Tues. April 2 & 4 Final Four Boston, Mass.
# State Farm Tip-off Classic (Lubbock, Texas)
& LMU Thanksgiving Tournament (Los Angeles, Calif.)
* Denotes SEC games
% Russell Athletic Shootout (Duluth, Ga.)
All times listed are EASTERN. Dates and times subject to change


Dawg Post Top Stories