All-Star Bulldogs Head to New York

ATHENS - Georgia seniors Caroline Basu and Antonio Ruiz along with juniors John Isner and Shadisha Robinson will be in New York Friday as the 2005 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Star Team will be honored at the historic West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills.

The ITA Collegiate All-Star Team will be treated by the ITA and The Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy to a weekend in New York, highlighted by the Aug. 26 activities at West Side. Following a breakfast at West Side, the ITA All-Stars will participate in doubles play with guests from 9-11 a.m. Starting at noon, the ITA All-Stars will then be honored at a special luncheon and presented their awards. Nick Bollettieri will be on hand for the awards ceremony. The legendary Bollettieri founded his world famous tennis academy in 1978 and has coached many of the top players including Andre Agassi, Monica Seles, Tommy Haas, Jim Courier and Maria Sharapova.

This 22nd edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2004 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2005 NCAA Championships. This year's recipients of the ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award will also be honored at the event.

Along with Isner and Ruiz, the men's all-stars are: Dante Cipulli of Southwest Baptist, KC Corkery of Stanford, Ryler DeHeart of Illinois, Benedikt Dorsch of Baylor, Sam Fletcher of Azusa Pacific, Alex Gonzales of Laredo, Scott Green of Ohio State, Sam Warburg of Stanford, Matt Seeberger of UC-Santa Cruz and Ross Wilson of Ohio State.

Along with Basu and Robinson, this year's women's all-stars are: Loli Aguirre Gomez of Lee College, Alice Barnes of Stanford, Megan Bradley of Miami, Erin Burdette of Stanford, Audra Cohen of Northwestern, Julie Coin of Clemson, Cristelle Grier of Northwestern, Lindsay Hagerman of Washington & Lee, Jing Jing Liu of BYU-Hawaii, Larikah Russell of Southern Nazarene, and Zuzana Zemenova of Baylor.

Baylor's Dorsch and Miami's Bradley will be honored as the ITA National Players of the Year. Both players finished at No. 1 in the ITA singles rankings. Isner and Ruiz along with Stanford's Barnes and Burdette will be honored as the ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year.

The ITA has selected an All-Star Team since 1984. Recent players honored include: James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Laura Granville, Marissa Irvin and Jeff Morrison.

Dawg Post Top Stories