2005 Circle Of Honor Inductees

ATHENS - National champion tennis player Angela Lettiere, All-America football player Jim Wilson and national champion gymnast Corrinne Wright have been chosen for induction into the University of Georgia¹s Circle of Honor - the school¹s highest tribute paid to former Bulldog athletes and coaches.

The trio will be honored at an induction banquet on Friday at the Butts-Mehre Heritage Hall, where they will be permanently enshrined in the Circle of Honor exhibit. They also will be recognized at the Georgia vs. Louisiana-Monroe football game on Saturday.

The all-sports recognition program is designed to recognize and pay tribute to extraordinary student-athletes and coaches who, by their performance and conduct, have brought honor to the university and themselves, and who by their actions have contributed to the tradition of the Georgia Bulldogs. The criteria also stipulate that each recipient has earned his or her academic degree.

Lettiere concluded her collegiate tennis career on a high note, winning the 1994 NCAA singles championship and leading the Bulldogs to both the NCAA and SEC team titles. During her career, she was one of only two players in collegiate history to play in three consecutive ITA Grand Slam Finals in one season: the NCAA Championships, the Rolex National Indoor Championships and the Riviera All-American Championships. In addition to her singles dominancein 1994, Lettiere teamed with Michelle Anderson to become Georgia¹s first women¹s Grand Slam national champion doubles team, winning the Rolex National Indoors. Lettiere and Anderson finished 1994 as the nation¹s top-ranked women¹s collegiate doubles team. In 1994, Lettiere was named National Player of the Year and SEC Player of the Year, and she earned All-America status in both singles and doubles. Lettiere, a marketing major, also made the SEC Academic Honor Roll as a senior.

Wilson was a standout lineman for the Bulldogs in 1963 and 1964. He was described as ³the strongest player I¹ve ever seen² by then-Coach Vince Dooley. Wilson was a consensus All-American in 1964, earning accolades from the likes of The Associated Press, the Newspaper Enterprise Association and the Football Writers Association of America. Wilson also garnered All-SEC recognition. Wilson helped the 1964 Bulldogs, Dooley¹s first team, win seven games. Wilson and the Bulldogs ended the campaign with a 7-0 win against Texas Tech in the Sun Bowl, and he was chosen as the bowl¹s Most Valuable Lineman. Wilson was selected in the fourth round of the 1965 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers. He played four seasons in the NFL before retiring due to a spinal condition. Wilson was inducted into the State of Georgia Sports Hall of Fame in 2001. He also was chosen for Georgia¹s 1950-75 All-Time Team.

Wright was a member of the U.S. National Team in 1985 and 1986 before beginning her career at Georgia. Once in Athens, Wright became a four-year letterwinner while helping the Gym Dogs to two NCAA national championships in 1987 and 1989. She was the 1989 NCAA All-Around national champion and co-champion of the floor exercise event that same year. She was an eight-time All-American, earning three each in the all-around and floor competitions, and one each on vault and the uneven bars. She was a Southeastern Conference champion on vault and floor as a freshman, and the SEC champ on bars and floor as a senior. In 1989 and 1990, Wright was named All-SEC. During the 1988 season, Wright was hampered by an ankle injury for most of the year and still managed two All-America honors on the vault and floor. Wright was nominated for the Honda Sports Award, given annually to the nation¹s top gymnast, during her career. She was also named a team MVP in 1989 and was among those listed on the SEC Honor Roll in 1990.

Dawg Post Top Stories