SEC Eastern Divisional race

BRIMINGHAM - A look at the Eastern Divisional race to the SEC Championship Game, held Dec. 3, at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

Georgia, Florida and South Carolina are the only teams remaining that are mathematically live for the Eastern Division title.

Georgia must finish one game ahead of Florida to represent the Eastern Division. The Bulldogs can win its remaining games (Auburn, Kentucky) or win one game and have Florida lose one of its remaining games (Vanderbilt, South Carolina).

Florida can represent the Eastern Division finishing in a tie with Georgia or one game ahead of Georgia. Florida can win its remaining games and have Georgia lose one or both of its remaining games.

South Carolina can finish in a tie for the Eastern Division along with Georgia at 5-3 and both Georgia and Florida at 5-3. In these scenarios, Georgia must lose its remaining games, South Carolina must win its remaining games (Arkansas, Florida) and Florida can defeat Vanderbilt for a three-way tie or lose to Vanderbilt to create a two-way tie between Georgia and South Carolina.

If there is a three-way tie at 5-3, the last tie-breaker in the three-way model would be used, which is, "The tied team with the highest ranking in the BCS standings following the last weekend or egular-season games shall be the divisional representative in the SEC Championship Game, unless the second of the tied teams is ranked within five-or-fewer places of the highest ranked tied team. In this case, the head-to-head results of the top two tied teams shall determine the representative in the SEC Championship Game."

If there is a two-way tie at 5-3 between Georgia and South Carolina, Georgia advances to the SEC Championship Game due to its 17-15 win over South Carolina earlier this year.




Nov. 5
Tennessee at Notre Dame (NBC Sports, 2:30 p.m. ET)
Appalachian State at LSU (7 p.m. CT)
Alabama at Mississippi State (CBS Sports, 2:30 p.m. CT)
South Carolina at Arkansas (JP Sports, 11:30 a.m. CT)
Auburn at Kentucky (1 p.m. ET)
Vanderbilt at Florida (ESPN2, 7:15 p.m. ET)

Nov. 12
LSU at Alabama (CBS Sports, 2:30 p.m. CT)
Auburn at Georgia (ESPN, 7:45 p.m. ET)
Florida at South Carolina (JP Sports, 12:30 p.m. ET)
Memphis at Tennessee (2 p.m. ET)

Nov. 19
Alabama at Auburn
Kentucky at Georgia
LSU at Ole Miss
Clemson at South Carolina
Vanderbilt at Tennessee

Nov. 25
Arkansas at LSU (CBS Sports, 1:30 p.m. CT)

Nov. 26
Florida State at Florida (CBS Sports, 3:30 p.m. ET)
Georgia at Georgia Tech
Tennessee at Kentucky

Dec. 3
2005 SEC Championship Game (Atlanta, Ga.) (CBS Sports, 6 p.m. ET)

Dawg Post Top Stories