Heisman Trophy ballots mailed out today

NEW YORK CITY - The Heisman Trophy Trust announced today that ballots were mailed to the 923 electors who will vote for the most outstanding collegiate football player in the United States.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy, perhaps the most coveted collegiate award in all of sports, has been awarded annually to the outstanding college football player in the United States since 1935. Past recipients in this elite fraternity include such football legends as Roger Staubach (Navy), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Barry Sanders, (Oklahoma State), Herschel Walker (Georgia) Vinny Testaverde (Miami, Fl.), Doug Flutie (Boston College) Bo Jackson (Auburn) and Matt Leinart (USC).

The voting for the Heisman Memorial Trophy is conducted and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. The deadline for receipt of the ballots is 5:00 p.m., Wednesday, December 7, 2005. Ballots must be postmarked no later than Monday, December 5th. For the fourth year in a row, electors may also cast their ballots online. The winner of the 2005 Heisman Memorial Trophy will be announced Saturday, December 10th from The Nokia Theatre in Times Square on a live television broadcast on ESPN from 8:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.

The 2005 Heisman electorate is comprised of 923 voters. The voters consist of the 52 living Heisman Trophy winners, 870 media from six regions across the country and one overall fan vote. The general public is welcome to vote at www.voteforheisman.com. The results of this fan vote will be counted as one vote in the official Heisman tabulation.

"We are very pleased to honor the 2005 Heisman Memorial Trophy Award winner," said Robert Whalen, Director of The Heisman Trophy Trust. "This looks to be another exciting Heisman race. We look forward to celebrating the 71st Annual Heisman Ceremony on December 10."

Heisman Trophy Awards Dinner

A limited number of tickets are still available to the general public for the 2005 Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner on Monday, December 12th. The winner of the 71st Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy will be presented his award at this event. Two previous Heisman winners will also be honored: Hop Cassady (Ohio State University, 1955) on the 50th Anniversary of his award, and George Rogers (South Carolina, 1980) on the 25th Anniversary of his award. Additionally, there will be a special tribute honoring the life of former winner Glenn Davis (Army, 1946).Tickets can be purchased online at www.heisman.com or by calling the Heisman Trophy Offices at (212) 425-7000. Only ticketed guests will be permitted at this event.


Dean Legge of Dawg Post is one of the 870 members of the media from across the country with a vote on the Heisman Trophy.

Dawg Post Top Stories