Five Bulldogs Named First-Team All-SEC

ATHENS - The Southeastern Conference champion Georgia Bulldogs placed a league-high five players on the 2005 First-Team All-Southeastern Conference Coaches¹ Football Team, the league announced on Tuesday.

The Bulldogs, who will face West Virginia in the Nokia Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2, also led the league with nine players honored overall.

There were five unanimous selections, including Georgia offensive guard Max Jean-Gilles and safety Greg Blue. The Bulldogs¹ other First-Team honorees were tight end Leonard Pope, defensive end Quentin Moses and kicker Brandon Coutu. The Second-Team choices were quarterback D.J. Shockley, offensive tackle Daniel Inman, cornerback DeMario Minter and punter Gordon Ely-Kelso.

Jean-Gilles (Miami, Fla.) anchors an offensive line that has rolled up 382 yards and 29.1 points per game this year. With Jean-Gilles and Inman (Hope Mills, N.C.) leading the way, the Bulldogs have rushed for 157 yards per game and the line has allowed only 20 sacks. Blue (College Park) is Georgia¹s leading tackler with 88 stops, including 63 solos. He also has two interceptions and a fumble recovery this year.

Pope (Americus) leads the Bulldogs in receiving yards with 491 and ranks second with 33 catches. He also has hauled in three touchdown passes. Moses (Athens) leads the Bulldogs with 10.5 sacks and 19.5 tackles for loss. He also has 42 total tackles and two fumble recoveries. Coutu (Lawrenceville) leads the SEC in scoring with 109 points. He is 40-of-40 on extra points and 23-of-29 on field goals.

Shockley (College Park), the MVP of the SEC Championship Game, has passed for 2,311 yards and 21 touchdowns this season, while also rushing for 251 yards and four scores. Minter (Stone Mountain) has two interceptions, a team-high nine pass breakups and 46 tackles this season. Ely-Kelso (Athens) is averaging 42.7 yards per punt and has pinned Georgia opponents inside the 20-yard line 22 times.

Dawg Post Top Stories