Shockley is Player of the Year releases its 2005 All-SEC Team including the players of the year on offense, defense, and a newcomer of the year.

Quarterback D.J. Shockley led his Georgia team to an SEC Championship in his first year as a starter. While it can be argued that other players put up better numbers than Shockley, no player was more efficient in his ability to make plays. Shockley finished second in the SEC behind Vanderbilt's Jay Cutler in total offense despite only logging 347 plays to Cutler's 568. Shockley's touchdown to interception ratio of 21/4 was tops in the league. Most importantly, he led his team to the SEC Championship.

Willis and the Q-Tip

Patrick Willis of Ole Miss led the SEC in tackles this year despite only playing in 10 games, but that's not the half of it. Willis was the leading tackler on a revamped Ole Miss defense that moved up to #27 in the country despite little support from the offensive side of the ball, and he did it one handed.

After breaking his thumb early in the season, Willis played the rest of the season with padding on his hand that turned his arm into what was accurately described as a Q-Tip. He was still the best player on the field. Demeco Ryans of Alabama is worthy of recognition as well.

Darren McFadden of Arkansas rushed for over 1,000 yards and had an eye popping 6.32 yards per carry and 11 touchdowns. The term "game-breaker" gets thrown around too loosely in recruiting circles, and McFadden is one of the few players that term fits appropriately.

The 2005 All-SEC Team
ALL-SEC -- Offense
QB D.J. Shockley* Georgia 6-1 206 Sr.
RB Kenny Irons Auburn 5-11 202 Jr.
RB Darren McFadden*** Arkansas 6-2 210 Fr.
WR Sidney Rice South Carolina 6-4 191 Fr.
WR Earl Bennett Vanderbilt 6-2 200 Fr.
TE Leonard Pope Georgia 6-7 250 Jr.
OL Marcus McNeill Auburn 6-9 338 Sr.
OL Max Jean-Gilles Georgia 6-4 340 Sr.
OL Andrew Whitworth LSU 6-7 322 Sr.
OL Randy Hand Florida 6-6 310 Sr.
OL Rudy Niswanger LSU 6-6 296 Sr.
DE Willie Evans Mississippi State 6-2 270 Sr.
DE Quentin Moses Georgia 6-5 248 Jr.
DT Claude Wroten LSU 6-3 290 Sr.
LB Patrick Willis** Ole Miss 6-2 230 Jr.
LB DeMeco Ryans Alabama 6-2 232 Sr.
LB Moses Osemwegie Vanderbilt 6-0 228 Sr.
LB Freddie Roach Alabama 6-2 248 Sr.
S Greg Blue Georgia 6-2 214 Sr.
S Ko Simpson South Carolina 6-1 201 So.
CB Tim Jennings Georgia 5-8 178 Sr.
CB Dee Webb Florida 5-11 190 Jr.
P Kody Bliss Auburn 5-11 177 Jr.
PK Brandon Coutu Georgia 6-0 197 So.
RS Skyler Green LSU 5-10 185 Sr.

* Offensive Player of the Year
** Defensive Player of the Year
*** Freshman of the Year

Dawg Post Top Stories