Georgia Announces Spring Awards

ATHENS - The University of Georgia football team announced its spring football awards Saturday in conjunction with the annual spring G-Day football game. The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring drills to recognize improvement, dedication and outstanding performance on the practice field. The "Junkyard Dawg Award" will be presented at halftime of Saturday's G-Day game. The list of 2006 awards is as follows:

Junkyard Dawg Award (presented by the Touchdown Club of Rockdale County) - Brandon Miller, LB, Colquitt, Ga.; Nick Jones, C, Bowdon, Ga.

Best All-Around Offensive Player - Thomas Brown, TB, Tucker, Ga.

True Grit Award - Marcus Howard, DE, Huger, S.C.; Martrez Milner, TE, Gainesville, Ga.

Most Improved Offensive Lineman - Fernando Velasco, OG, Wrens, Ga.

Most Improved Receiver - Mario Raley, SE, Charlotte, N.C.

Most Improved Running Back - Jason Johnson, TB, Chicago, Ill.

Biggest Surprise of the Spring (Offense) - Kris Durham, SE, Calhoun

Outstanding Walk-On (Offense) - Chris Abbott, OL, Douglasville, Ga.

Most Consistent Running Back - Thomas Brown, TB, Tucker, Ga.

Best All Around Defensive Player - Charles Johnson, DE, Hawkinsville, Ga.

Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Quentin Moses, DE, Athens, Ga.

Best Tackler - Tony Taylor, LB, Watkinsville, Ga.

Most Improved Defensive Lineman - Kade Weston, DT, Red Bank, N.J.

Most Improved Linebacker - Marcus Washington, LB, Keysville, Ga.

Most Improved Defensive Back - Ramarcus Brown, CB, East Point, Ga.

Biggest Surprise of the Spring (Defense) - Asher Allen, CB, Tucker, Ga.

Outstanding Walk-On (Defense) - Tommy Watkins, LB, Statesboro, Ga.

Biggest Hit of the Spring - Jarvis Jackson, LB, Hope Mills, N.C.

Coffee Co. Hustle Award - Tra Battle, ROV, Atlanta, Ga.; Thomas Brown, TB, Tucker, Ga.; Ray Gant, DT, Chapel Hill, N.C.; Nick Jones, C, Bowdon, Ga.

Dawg Post Top Stories