Georgia wins SEC All-Sports Trophy

ATHENS - The University of Georgia has won seven Southeastern Conference championships during this academic year which has set a school record for most titles in a single year.

UGA has won SEC titles in football, women's indoor track and field, women's outdoor track and field, gymnastics, women's swimming, men's tennis, and men's golf. The league baseball championship is yet to be determined. Georgia's previous high for SEC titles was six in the 2000-2001 academic year. The Bulldogs won five titles in both 1982-1983 and 1996-1997, and four league championships in 1997-1998, 1998-99, and 1999-2000.

"Winning seven SEC championships at this point in the year is a great tribute to our coaches, student-athletes, and those who have roles that support our teams," said UGA Director of Athletics Damon Evans. "It's a team effort and is something that can be a point of pride for all those in the University community."

The seven championships also helped Georgia to the SEC All-Sports Trophy presented annually by the New York Times Regional Newspaper Group to the SEC school with the most successful athletic program. The New York Time Group began sponsoring the award after the SEC office discontinued the Bernie Moore Trophy which had been presented from 1973-94. Georgia had won the award six times between 1981 and '92 but Florida had most recently won 14 straight.

"Winning the New York Times All-Sports Trophy for the SEC is also great news," said Evans. "It certainly represents a lot of hard work by dedicated people and represents success in the country's most competitive conference."

The New York Times trophy is administered by the Gainesville (Fla) Sun, a member of the New York Times Regional Newspaper Group.

Dawg Post Top Stories