Tony Taylor Named Winner of Dooley Award

ATHENS - University of Georgia senior linebacker Tony Taylor of Watkinsville was named the winner of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award highlighting the recent annual UGA football Gala year-end banquet.

Senior center Nick Jones of Bowdon was named the team¹s Most Valuable Offensive Player; Taylor was chosen the Most Valuable Defensive Player; and tailback Thomas Brown of Tucker and punter Gordon Ely-Kelso of Athens were named the Most Valuable Special Teams Players.

Taylor and Jones were also named the team¹s permanent overall teams captains. Quentin Moses of Athens was named the team¹s permanent defensive captain while Jones was selected as the offensive captain.

Roverback Tra Battle of Forsyth and Ely-Kelso were named the team¹s special teams captains.

Battle was also named the winner of the David Jacobs Award given to the player ³who by example portrays courage, spirit, character, and the determination to finish the drill.²

Jones and senior quarterback Joe Tereshinski of Athens were named winners of the Leon Farmer Strength and Conditioning Award, presented to the player(s) ³whose dedication to the strength and conditioning program results in a significant contribution to the football team.² The annual ³Block of Granite Award² winner, given to the player ³the Georgia football team depends on,² was defensive lineman Chris Abbott of Douglasville.

Other awards included:

Senior Career Scholar-Award, DB Joseph O¹Keefe, Trenton, Ga., 3.80 career GPA; Outstanding Scout Team Offensive Player, DB Chad Gloer, Fayetteville, Ga.Outstanding Scout Team Defensive Player, QB, Johnathan DeLaureal, New Orleans, La.Outstanding Scout Team Special Teams Players, DB Quentin Banks, Warner Robins, Ga., and DB Joseph O¹Keefe, Trenton, Ga.; Most Improved Offensive Player, OG Fernando Velasco, Wrens, Ga.; Most Improved Defensive Player, DT Dale Dixson, Garland, Tex., and DT Kade Weston, Red Bank, N.J.; Most Improved Special Teams Player, DB Rowdy Francis, San Antonio, Tex.; Offensive Newcomer of the Year, QB Matthew Stafford, Dallas, Tex.; Defensive Newcomer of the Year, DB Asher Allen, Tucker, Ga., and DT Gino Atkins, Pembroke Pines, Fla.; Special Teams Newcomer of the Year, CB Prince Miller, Duncan, S.C.

Dawg Post Top Stories