Former Dawgs to be Inducted Into Hall of Fame

ATHENS - Two former members of the Georgia men's tennis team will be inducted into the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall of Fame Wednesday evening in ceremnonies held at the Holiday Inn in Athens. Al Parker and Allen Miller will become part of the elite fraternity which is housed at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex.

The Class of 2007 includes eight players, two coaches and one contributor. The players slated for the Hall's 25th induction class are: Steve Bryan of Texas,Harry Likas, Jr. of San Francisco, Matt Lucena of California, Todd Martin of Northwestern, Allen Miller of Georgia, Alex O'Brien of Stanford, Al Parker of Georgia and MaliVai Washington of Michigan.

Coaches Joe Cabri of Lander ( S.C.) and Tom Parham of Atlantic Christian (N.C., now Barton) and Elon will also be inducted. Col. John L. Beaver of Georgia will be inducted posthumously as a contributor.

Players are eligible for election to the ITA Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments as well as honors earned after college. College tennis legend Dan Magill serves as curator for the ITA Hall of Fame, which is housed at the University of Georgia. The ITA Men's Hall of Fame, which includes over 1,800 rare photos, inducted its first class in 1983 and has inducted more than 170 players, coaches and contributors since then. Members include the late Arthur Ashe (UCLA), Jimmy Connors (UCLA), John McEnroe (Stanford) and Stan Smith (Southern California).

Dawg Post Top Stories