Johnson named to AFCA Good Works Team

ATHENS - Georgia's Kelin Johnson has been one of 11 players nationwide named to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) 2007 Good Works Team, Grant Teaff, executive director of the AFCA, announced on Wednesday.

Johnson is the 11th Bulldog selected for the honor since its inception in 1992, tying Georgia with Nebraska for the most Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) honorees.

³It never ceases to amaze me to see the contributions student-athletes make to their communities,² Teaff said. ³Often times, these young men are better known for the good things they do on the field. The AFCA is proud to recognize these student-athletes for the good things they do in their communities.²

Highlights of Johnson's lengthy community service resume include: volunteering for HERO for a Day, a field day event sponsored by HERO for Children, a non-profit dedicated to improving the quality of life of children infected with HIV/AIDS; assisting with Camp Well Springs, a camp for children with disabilities; assisting with a home building project in Athens with Habitat for Humanity; being an active member in the Boys and Girls Clubs' mentor program; and speaking to numerous elementary, junior and high schools in the Athens area about the importance of education.

Johnson, a 6-1, strong safety, started all 13 games for Georgia a year ago and finished third on the team with 60 tackles. He also recorded 5.5 tackles for losses totaling -32 yards, posted 2.5 sacks for -23 yards, recovered two fumbles and intercepted two passes. Johnson is a native of Daytona Beach, Fla., where he starred at both Mainland and Atlantic High School.

The AFCA selects two 11-man Good Works Teams, a Division I-A team and a combined team from NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA. The award honors players for their dedication and commitment to community service. The AFCA has been selecting the Good Works Team since 1997. From 1992-96, the Good Works Team was chosen by the College Football Association. When the CFA disbanded in 1997, the AFCA began selecting the teams.

Georgia and Nebraska lead the all-time list of honorees with 11 players selected during the 16 editions of the Good Works Team. Four SEC schools are included among the top-six number of honorees, with Kentucky third with nine, South Carolina and Tennessee tied for fourth with seven and Ole Miss sixth with six.

Other Bulldogs honored as Good Works Team members include: Alec Millen in 1992, Travis Jones in 1993, Brian Smith in 1995, Matt Stinchcomb in 1996 and 1998, Brett Millican in 2000, Jon Stinchcomb in 2001, David Greene in 2003, D.J. Shockley in 2005 and Quentin Moses in 2006.

Dawg Post Top Stories