Richt, Dogs score big in AP honors

Mark Richt was named Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year after winning the honor from his peers.

One day after setting a school record for the most selections on the coaches All-SEC team, Georgia scored big again Tuesday by dominating The Associated Press team.

Mark Richt was named Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year after winning the honor from his peers. Defensive end David Pollack was named SEC defensive player of the year by the AP's poll of regional writers after he was the overall player of the year in the coaches poll.

Georgia won its first SEC championship Saturday night by rolling past Arkansas 30-3. The 12-1 Bulldogs, ranked fourth in the nation, will play Florida State in the Jan. 1 Sugar Bowl.

Richt will be coaching against his mentor, Florida State's Bobby Bowden, and Bowden has taken due note of the success being enjoyed by his former long-time offensive coordinator.

"I've really been impressed with what Mark has done,'' Bowden said Sunday.

When an assistant coach becomes a head coach, you don't know how they're going to work it out. Gosh, I can't believe what he's done in two years.''

Richt, 20-5 in his two years in Athens, led Georgia to its first outright SEC East title before coaching the Bulldogs to the win over Arkansas in the SEC championship game.

Georgia is third in the Bowl Championship Series standings entering the bowls.

A school-record eight players were named to the AP All-SEC first team. Georgia had six first-team picks and 11 overall picks on the All-SEC coaches team.

From Georgia's offense, the writers in the AP voting picked quarterback David Greene, running back Musa Smith, offensive tackle Jon Stinchcomb and receiver Terrence Edwards to the All-SEC first team.

Pollack, linebacker Boss Bailey and defensive tackle Johnathan Sullivan were first-team picks from the defense, and for the second straight day kicker Billy Bennett also was a first-team pick.

The eight first-team picks topped Georgia's previous high totals of seven in 1976 and 1980. The 1980 national championship team finished 12-0,  Georgia's only 12-win season before this year.

Kentucky running back Artose Pinner was picked as the SEC's top offensive player on the AP team. Vanderbilt running back Kwane Doster was named freshman of the year.

NOTES: Order blanks for the Sugar Bowl were mailed Tuesday to all renewable season-ticket holders and all faculty members who have season tickets. Those who contributed $1,000 or more this season will be allowed to order as many as six tickets; $600-999 contributors can order four, and those who contributed $200-599 can order two. Faculty members can order two tickets. ...

The Larry Munson football scholarship endowment is complete, thanks to a final gift from Georgia swimming coach Jack Bauerle. "It's an honor to have a small part of a scholarship in Larry ‘ s name,'' said Bauerle of the long-time radio voice of the Bulldogs.

This year, Munson celebrated his 80th birthday.

Said Munson: "It is obvious a lot of people worked hard on this. ... I am forever deeply indebted to those people. There is no way to really express my thanks in the right way."

Contributions had to reach $150,000 for the scholarship to be fully endowed.

Dawg Post Top Stories