Gala Report

ATHENS - Sophomore tailback Knowshon Moreno of Belford, N.J., senior safety Andrew Williams of Blairsville, sophomore linebacker Rennie Curran of Snellville and sophomore quarterback Matthew Stafford of Dallas, Texas, took home the top awards at the University of Georgia football annual team Gala Saturday night at the Classic Center.

Moreno was named the team's Most Valuable Offensive Player, Williams the Most Valuable Special Teams Player, Curran the Most Valuable Defensive Player, and Stafford was named winner of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year Award.

Williams and senior fullback Brannan Southerland of Dacula were named the winners of the David Jacobs Award as the players who by example portray courage, spirit, character, and determination.

Senior receiver Mohamed Massaquoi of Charlotte, N.C., was named the team's permanent overall captain while Southerland was named the offensive captain, senior defensive tackle Corvey Irivin of Augusta the defensive captain, and Williams the special teams captain.

The Leon Farmer Award for dedication to the strength and conditioning program was presented to Massaquoi and Southerland. Outstanding Scout Team Awards went to Christian Robinson (offense) of Norcross, Josh Bagby (defense) of Canton, and Kevin Lanier of Woodstock (special teams).

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to fullback Shaun Chapas of St. Augustine, Fla., and receiver Michael Moore of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. (offense), linebacker Darryl Gamble (defense) of

Bainbridge, and cornerback Chad Gloer (special teams) of Fayetteville. Newcomer of the Year Award winners were receiver A.J. Green of Summerville, S.C. (offense), defensive tackle DeAngelo Tyson of Statesboro and cornerback Brandon Boykin of Fayetteville (defense), and Zach Renner of New Canaan, Conn., and Logan Gray (special teams) of Columbia, Mo.

Quarterback Jonathan deLaureal of New Orelans, La., was named recipient of the Senior Scholar Award for career academic achievement (3.58 in Finance).

All-SEC Academic Awards were presented to fullback Benjamin Boyd of Thomasville, punter Drew Butler of Duluth, Chapas, deLaureal, split end Kris Durham of Calhoun, snapper Bo Fowler of Union Point, receiver Demiko Goodman of Newnan, defensive tackle Andrew Gully of Vienna, Va., defensive end Wes Jacobs of Cordele, safety Andrew Johnson of Athens, punter Brian Mimbs of Dublin, tackle Casey Nickels of Tignall, Southerland, Stafford, tackle Trinton Sturdivant of Wadesboro, tight end Aron White of Columbia, Mo., and linebacker Charles White of Columbia, S.C

Dawg Post Top Stories