Football: All-Conference teams announced

Hawaii places five players on the All-WAC first team led by WAC Defensive Player of the Year, Travis LaBoy.

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC's coaches. WAC Champion Boise State and Hawai‘i led the league with five first-team all-WAC honorees, while Fresno State placed four on the first team. Boise State's Ryan Dinwiddie was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Hawai‘i's Travis LaBoy earned Defensive Player of the Year honors. Tulsa linebacker Nick Bunting was the Freshman of the Year while the Golden Hurricane's first-year coach, Steve Kragthorpe, was voted the WAC's Coach of the Year.

Dinwiddie, a senior quarterback from Elk Grove, Calif. (Elk Grove HS), leads the WAC and is fourth nationally in passing efficiency with a 165.0 rating. He leads the WAC with 4,031 passing yards and 28 touchdown passes. Dinwiddie completed 257-of-411 passes on the season with just five interceptions. He also scored 12 rushing touchdowns, tied for the most in the WAC.

LaBoy, a senior defensive end from San Rafael, Calif. (Utah State), leads the WAC with 13.0 sacks for 101 yards. He also had nine additional tackles for a loss of 42 yards. LaBoy has a total of 76 tackles and has picked off two passes and recovered two fumbles on the season.

Bunting, a freshman from Tulsa, Okla. (Holland Hall), recorded 74 tackles (34 solo, 40 assists) and 6.5 tackles for loss. He also had three sacks and intercepted two passes for the Golden Hurricane.

Kragthorpe earned his coach of the year award after leading Tulsa to an 8-4 record and to its first bowl game in 12 years. Tulsa came off back-to-back one-win seasons prior to Kragthorpe's arrival. The Golden Hurricane finished in a tie for second in the WAC with a 6-2 record and will play Georgia Tech in the Humanitarian Bowl on Jan. 3.

Repeat first team selections from last year include Dinwiddie and Hawai‘i senior defensive back Hyrum Peters.

For the second time in his career, Fresno State senior Bernard Berrian was named a first team all-WAC receiver and special teams player. Berrian was named to both positions in 2001, but missed last year after an injury in the first game of the year forced him to miss the season.

Nevada, Rice and Tulsa placed three players on the first-team, while Louisiana Tech and UTEP each had two.

First Team


WR-Chad Owens, Hawai‘i, 5-9, 177, Jr.

WR-Tim Gilligan, Boise State, 5-9, 181, Sr.

WR-Bernard Berrian, Fresno State, 6-2, 190, Sr.

TE-Garrett Mills, Tulsa, 6-2, 214, So.

OL-Trey Darilek, UTEP, 6-6, 305, Sr.

OL-Austin Chadwick, Tulsa, 6-4, 283, Sr.

OL-Harvey Dahl, Nevada, 6-5, 309, Jr.

OL-Ben Stephens, Rice, 6-2, 300, Sr.

OL-Chris DeMunbrun, Rice, 6-4, 295, Sr.

QB-*Ryan Dinwiddie, Boise State, 6-1, 187, Sr.

RB-Ryan Moats, Louisiana Tech, 5-8, 201, So.

RB-Howard Jackson, UTEP, 5-10, 160, Jr.


DL-Isaac Sopoaga, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 315, Sr.

DL-Travis LaBoy, Hawai‘i, 6-4, 249, Sr.

DL-Jorge Cordova, Nevada, 6-2, 250, Sr.

DL-Julius Roberts, Boise State, 6-5, 239, Jr.

LB-Andy Avalos, Boise State, 5-10, 223, Jr.

LB-Bryce McGill, Fresno State, 5-11, 205, Sr.

LB-Nick Bunting, Tulsa, 6-1, 205, Fr.

LB-Daryl Towns, Nevada, 6-0, 230, Sr.

DB-Wes Nurse, Boise State, 5-10, 189, Sr.

DB-*Hyrum Peters, Hawai‘i, 5-8, 188, Sr.

DB-Kelvin Millhouse, Hawai‘i, 6-1, 205, Sr.

DB-James Sanders, Fresno State, 5-11, 205, So.


PK-Josh Scobee, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 186, Sr.

P-Jared Scruggs, Rice, 6-3, 165, Fr.

ST-Bernard Berrian, Fresno State, 6-2, 190, Sr.

*2002 First Team All-WAC Selection

Top Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Ryan Dinwiddie, Sr., QB, Boise State

Defensive Player of the Year – Travis LaBoy, Sr., DE, Hawai‘i

Freshman of the Year – Nick Bunting, LB, Tulsa

Coach of the Year – Steve Kragthorpe, Tulsa

Second Team


WR-Tuati Wooden, Sr., San Jose State

WR-D.J. Curry, Sr., Louisiana Tech

WR-Romby Bryant, Sr., Tulsa

TE-Courtney Anderson, Sr., San Jose State

OL-Daryn Colledge, So., Boise State

OL-Dartagnon Shack, So., Fresno State

OL-Samson Satele, Fr., Hawai‘i

OL-Joseph Hayes, Sr., San Jose State

OL-Chris Hines, Jr., Nevada

OL-LaMons Walker, Sr., San Jose State

QB-James Kilian, Jr., Tulsa

RB-Chance Kretschmer, Jr., Nevada

RB-Keylon Kincade, Sr., SMU


DL-Derek Kennard, Sr., Nevada

DL-Brian Morris, Jr., Fresno State

DL-Garrett McIntyre, So., Fresno State

DL-Allan Adami, Jr., SMU

LB-Robert Rodriguez, Jr., UTEP

LB-Michael LeDet, Jr., Tulsa

LB-Byron Santiago, Jr., Louisiana Tech

LB-Travis Burgher, Sr., Boise State

LB-Antonio Crow, Sr., Louisiana Tech

DB-Kedrick Alexander, So., Tulsa

DB-Gabe Franklin, Jr., Boise State

DB-Gerald Jones, Sr., San Jose State

DB-Jermaine Hope, Jr., Tulsa


PK-Brett Visintainer, Jr., Fresno State

P-Bryce Benekos, Jr., UTEP

ST-Tim Gilligan, Sr., Boise State

Warrior Sports Network Top Stories