Kahumoku, Willoughby Named All-Americans

It came as no surprise but the tandem of Lily Kahumoku and Kim Willoughby were named AVCA First Team All-Americans Wednesday.

NEW ORLEANS - Some good news and even better news came out of New Orleans Wednesday as juniors Lily Kahumoku and Kim Willoughby were named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-American first team. What came as a pleasant surprise was teammate Lauren Duggins was named to the third team.

For Kahumoku and Willoughby, it was the second team each was named to the first team.

Logan Tom of Stanford became only the third player in Division I women's volleyball history to be named first team all american four straight years.

Bobbi Petersen, head women's volleyball at the University of Northern Iowa, was named AVCA National Coach of the Year.

The AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Friday.

Player           School     Ps Yr Ht.  Hometown
Emily Adams      USC        MB So 6-5  Phoenix, Ar
Danielle Bauer   UCSB       RS Sr 5-11 Santa Ana, Ca
Paige Benjamin   Washington OH Sr 5-11 Redmond, Wa
Greichaly Cepero Nebraska   S  Sr 6-2  Dorado, PR
Aury Cruz        Florida    OH Jr 5-11 Levittown, PR
Stacey Gordon    Ohio State OH So 5-11 Oshawa, Canada
Amber Holmquist  Nebraska   MB Sr 6-4  Houston, Tx
Lily Kahumoku    Hawai'i    OH Jr 6-2  Lubbock, Tx
Sara McGee       Stanford   MB Jr 6-3  Davis, Ca
April Ross       USC        OH Jr 6-1  Newport Beach, Ca
Logan Tom        Stanford   OH Sr 6-1  S. Lake City, Ut
Kim Willoughby   Hawai'i    OH Jr 6-0  Napoleonville, La

Player           School     Ps Yr Ht.  Hometown
Cassie Busse     Minnesota  RS Jr 6-2  Prior Lake, Mn
Erin Byrd        Wisconsin  OH Sr 6-0  Glen Ellyn, Il
Kim Glass        Arizona    OH Fr 6-3  Lancaster, Pa
Brittany Hochevar Long Beach S Sr 6-0  Fowler, Co
Jennifer Joines  Pacific    MB Jr 6-3  Milpitas, Ca
Nicole McCray    Florida    MB Sr 6-1  Longview, Tx
Lynnette Moster  Ga Tech    OH So 5-10 Liberty, In
Ogonna Nnamani   Stanford   OH So 6-1  Normal, Il
Laura Pilakowski Nebraska   OH Sr 6-1  Columbus, Ne
Becky Potter     S. Clara   MB Jr 6-0  Clovis, Ca
Cara Smith       Penn State MB Jr 6-0  Lafayette, In
Katie Wilkins    Pepperdine OH Jr 6-4  Lakeside, Ca

Player           School     Ps Yr Ht.  Hometown
Michelle Collier South Fla. OH Sr 5-9  Recife, Brazil
Lauren Duggins   Hawai'i    MB Jr 6-0  Fullerton, Ca
Paula Gentil     Minnesota  Li Fr 5-9  Fortleaza, Brazil
Laura Greene     N.Carolina OH Sr 5-11 Yadkinville, NC
Benavia Jenkins  Florida    MB Jr 6-0  Fort Pierce, Fl
Mia Jerkov       California OH So 6-3  Split, Croatia
Christy Myers    Missouri   MB Sr 6-1  Raytown, Mo
Brooke Niles     UCSB       S  Sr 5-9  WoodlandHills,Ca
Molly O'Brien    No. Iowa   MB Jr 5-10 Parnell, Iowa
Morgan Shields   Wisconsin  S  Jr 5-11 Watertown, Wi
Elisha Thomas    Long Beach MB Sr 6-3  Grass Valley, Ca
Mira Topic       Texas      OH So 6-3  Kastela, Croatia

Freshman of the Year: Kim Glass, Arizona
Coach of the Year: Bobbi Petersen, Northern Iowa
National Player of the Year: Logan Tom, Stanford

Warrior Sports Network Top Stories