Cowan a Semi-Finalist for Ray Guy Award

University of Idaho junior punter BOBBY COWAN, a First Team All-WAC selection last year, currently is Idaho's all-time leader in yards-per-punt average, and this week advanced in balloting for the Ray Guy Award, which recognizes the best punter in college football. A native of Vancouvar (Wash.), Cowan is currently No.2 in NCAA rankings in yards per punt average (47.10).

The following is an official press release from the University of Idaho Sports Information Department.

Bobby Cowan, the best punter in University of Idaho football history, has advanced in the balloting for the Ray Guy Award with his placement on the list of semifinalists for the honor that annually recognizes the best punter in college football.

Cowan, a junior from Vancouver, Wash., is Idaho's all-time career average leader with a per-punt yardage of 45.4 per kick. His average of 47.1 per punt this season is second in the NCAA but he has been engaged in a battle for No. 1 throughout the season.

Of his 173 career punts, 42 have been for 50 or more yards. This fall, he has had two kicks of 70-plus yards with a career-best 76-yarder at Virginia. He has three of the top seven all-time averages per season with his 47.1 this year ranking second, his 45.1 in 2010 No. 3 and his 43.0 in 2009 seventh.

He is joined on the list of semifinalists by Ryan Allen (Louisiana Tech), Ian Campbell (UTEP), Steven Clark (Auburn), Scott Kovanda (Ball State), Richie Leone (Houston), Pat O'Donnell (Cincinnati), Jackson Rice (Oregon), Brian Schmiedebusch (Bowling Green) and Brad Wing (LSU).

The semifinalists will be narrowed to three finalists, who will be announced Nov. 21. The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards shows live on ESPN on Dec. 8.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter's net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners.

ALL Vandals Top Stories